Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I followed others advise and made my own soup stock by boiling a ham bone with carrots onion and celery using the inside of the stalk as well (leaves) After simmering for about 3hrs I strained and discarded the veggies. I also cooked potatoes separately. I added some concentrated chicken flavor to the mix. It was very good! Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Strohm Ewen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Whoa nellie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuk Witherite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kleiny747
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Awesome! I used sharp cheddar Velveeta, only 1 onion, and added carrots. Incredible flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Used sharp cheddar instead of velveta. Topped with chives and crumbled bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Fabulous! The only thing I changed was I used chicken broth instead of water. Thanks for sharing! Even my picky eater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlreiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Webster, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was delicious! However, I was diligent about adding additional vegetables (diced & sautéed carrots, celery, corn & onions) & seasoning each layer of flavor. The prep & long, slow cooking (took about four hours!) paid off. I used diced cheddar instead of Velveeta (2 pounds is a lot of cheese product?). Made so much we shared with neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times now, each time adding something different. We love ham and so its loaded with it! I cook the potatoes in chicken stock, use half & half instead of milk, add bacon (everything's better with bacon!), for a little different texture I use instant mashed potatoes to thicken, and last time I added some red pepper flakes just to give it a little kick. It was just what it needed according to my hubby! Making it again today just because we like having the quick leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portal, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent flavor and texture. I used chicken stock in lieu of water and added bacon and celery as well as Velveeta Sharp to boost the cheese taste. If you like a cheese soup, you'll like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Love this soup, my kids also big fans. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onekama, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States