Ham, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Loved the simpleness! We used ham broth instead and used the caraway, because of my German roots. It was great. After the first meal I chopped a few extra veggies in to use the produce left in the garden before the first frost, and the next day the meal was a bit different and just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Tried this, but added crushed up bacon, and also cheddar on top. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Montalto

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Very tasty soup. The second time I made it, I substituted V8 juice for the chicken broth. This gave it more flavor, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
A very nice soup to have a cold or chilly day. I didn't have fresh parsley so I added a sliced carrot. I like the color it added to the soup. I did use the optional caraway seeds and that added a lot of flavor. Served this with a slice of homemade bread and honey. It made for a nice meal and the leftovers the next day had even more flavor that the night it was served. Yes, I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Just love this soup. Added a few silvered carrots. Will keep this in box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Love this recipe! I added veggies to make it more hardy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Nice hearty soup that is low in calories and fat. I probably put in 4 cups of cabbage and I added a couple diced carrots and some leftover sliced mushrooms because I had them and didn't want them to spoil. I like how the carrots and mush added another color dimension to the soup making it very eye-appealing. Whatever you do, don't skip the parsley - it's key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Very tasty! My husband loved it. We went through a whole pot in two days. The only thing I did different was adding some seasoning like paprika, basil, and a little ground sage. Awesome fall comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Delicious - left out the optional caraway and still thought there was wonderful flavor in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Just OK. Added a can of chopped tomatoes and some extra veggies (celery and carrots, and extra garlic, red potatoes, and cabbage). Used leftover brown sugar braised ham. I added a bay leaf as suggested, and used fresh parsley. I did omit the caraway seeds as I'm not a fan. Flavor needed more oomph. Not sure what it needs to up the flavor but it needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States