Ham, Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I used fresh broccoli and fresh potatoes (peeled & julienned) & added a teaspoon of dijon mustard to the soup stuff. I had to cook it covered for 90 minutes at 350, but it was delicious... not soupy or mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Great recipe although I did make a few changes. First, I used Tater Tots and baked them 3/4 time first. I layered Tots in baking dish. I exchanged cheddar cheese for the parmesan. I used 1/2c 2% milk and low fat mayo. only using about 1/8 cup. I mixed everything together and added a "sprinkle" of Santa Maria style seasoning and a tsp+ of dijon mustard. I mixed 1 cup of cheddar cheese with the mix. I baked for 35 min and then sprinkled the top with more cheddar for the remaining 5 min. Wow, quick, easy, and delicious. Not runny at all. Great for leftover holiday ham. Would definately make again. Forgot to mention that I used fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was really, really good. I did add a few touches of my own. I used frozen hashbrowns a little onion powder and garlic. And instead of layering the ingredients, I mixed it all up with the soup and mayo. So what you come out with, is a very creamy dish. This is a good quick meal for the family on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
WE THOUGHT IT WAS A KEEPER. I SUBSTITUTED SLICES OF PARBOILED POTATOES INSTEAD OF THE FRIES, ADDED ONIONS, AND CHEDDAR CHEESE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freedom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I changed it just a tad, I used hashbrowns instead and added some mushrooms, and cheddar cheese.For the last 10 minutes, I put some more shredded cheddar cheese on top with only 1/2 the called for parm. cheese, and then sprinkled some french fried onions on top of that. My family ate it up! I will be making this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
I was looking for a recipe to use up some leftover ham and tried this. It is delicious and easy! I used cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. My family of very picky eaters loved it and gave their thumbs up. I put this one in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Wow, this was sooooo good! I used cornbread on the bottom instead of french fries. It gave is sweet, yummy taste! I never really knew what to do with left over ham except for mac and cheese. Thank you for your new idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzelli1
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
First, this recipe is great comfort food. I did add about a cup of Cheddar Cheese to the soup/milk mixture, along with a can of sliced mushrooms. After reading the reviews, I opted to use hashbrowns instead of French Fries, and I shredded my own potatoes rather than using frozen -- mostly to make sure the potatoes would cook thoroughly. They cooked fine, but the dish is really not very appetizing to look at when made this way with hash browns. Next time, I will use potato slices that I parboil for a few minutes first to ensure they cook through. I will also add some sauted onions and garlic, along with some salt and pepper to taste. Will definitely use more Cheddar Cheese next time too. Even without my changes though, I think this is a great comfort food and my whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This casserole is devine. Extremely creamy. I used 1 can of sliced potatoes in place of french fries...other reviews states that makes it mushy. I had to cook for 60 & then let sit for 10 for desired consistancy. Next time I may cut milk in half to allow for less cooking time. I also combined all ingredients instead of layering and topped with approx 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this with leftovers from Christmas dinner. Used mashed potatoes on the bottom, 1 - 16 oz bag of frozen broccoli, cut up leftover ham, 1 can of cream of broccoli soup, not quite a full can of milk, and the mayo. Added shredded cheddar-jack cheese on top and baked for 45 min. Turned out wonderfully. Was a little runny, but not to the point that it made a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONDATRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States