Ham, Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My daughter loved this dish! As other people suggested, I used hashbrowns. Since I used a slightly smaller baking pan than it called for, I cut down on the broccoli and didn't use the mayo. It came out just right. I used a mix of Italian shredded cheese and sprinkled a bit of parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was so tasty and very easy to prepare! I took some of the other suggestions and used hashbrown patties instead of french fries. I popped them in the toaster to defrost them first. I also combined all of the ingredients and added a cup of cheddar cheese. Baked it for 40 minutes then sprinkled with parmesean cheese and more cheddar. I thought with the cream of mushroom soup it would taste like green bean casserole, but it didn't at all. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
First, this recipe is great comfort food. I did add about a cup of Cheddar Cheese to the soup/milk mixture, along with a can of sliced mushrooms. After reading the reviews, I opted to use hashbrowns instead of French Fries, and I shredded my own potatoes rather than using frozen -- mostly to make sure the potatoes would cook thoroughly. They cooked fine, but the dish is really not very appetizing to look at when made this way with hash browns. Next time, I will use potato slices that I parboil for a few minutes first to ensure they cook through. I will also add some sauted onions and garlic, along with some salt and pepper to taste. Will definitely use more Cheddar Cheese next time too. Even without my changes though, I think this is a great comfort food and my whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Followed recipe almost exactly substituting parmasan cheese for monterey jack and cheddar. Was very yummy, gooey and filling. Took only minutes to prepare, my kind of meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Excellent! My husband and daughters loved the casserole but not the smell of the parmesan cheese. I made a few changes, I am allergic to ham so used 2 cups of chopped cooked chicken and used cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom. I cooked and drained the broccolli after reading reviews that it was soupy. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Cant say enough about this one! I used two 10 oz boxes of broccoli, and added about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and it came out GREAT!! Will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Very good! I used fresh, chopped broccoli florets instead of frozen. Also, I used hash browns instead of fries. I added mushrooms, garlic powder and onion powder. Everyone loved it! I'll be making this for a pot luck Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Used frozen country style hash browns in place of french fries. Added some Seasoned salt. Sprinkled cheddar cheese on the top at the end of baking and let it melt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I made the non-fast-food version of this and instead of the frozen fries, mayo, canned soup business I par-boiled and sliced some potatoes and made a cheese sauce from scratch with some mushroom soup bouillon that you can get here in Prague. Layered the whole lot, covered in the sauce and grated some more cheeese on top. It came out nice and tasty. I'm having this for lunch the whole week and I'm quite happy about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
We made with hash browns. While the flavors were very nice-especially the parmesan cheese flavor from the topping-the casserole came out cold (the broccoli mostly), and it was a bit soupy. We may try it again with either longer cook time or somehow thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartymncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States