Ham, Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was OK. I scaled down and put in a smaller dish otherwise we wouldn't eat it all. The kids looked skeptical but eventually picked out the ham and a piece or two of broccoli - leaving the potatoes to swim on their plates. I thought it tasted pretty good but the appearance wasn't much to be desired. I may make this again but not for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
delicious ! i changed it up a bit, used brocolli cheddar soup and 2 small cans of evaporated milk. I did use frozen french fries, my husband loved it,, that is saying alot ! easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was great. I made it ahead and froze it unbaked. Then put in the oven frozen in the oven frozend on the moring that I was ready to have it. Set my oven to come on and bake before I came home from work. Yum! Tasty, hot meal when I walked in the door. My husband commented that he really liked it too. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMSHIRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I do not understand the rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, and ended up with a gooey, tasteless mess. The french fries turned out a mashed up, soppy mess. Won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent!! I just used sliced potatoes and layered the broccolli and ham cubes on that followed by the creamy mixture over everything and little shredded cheddar and there you go. Took about an hour on 375. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was good. I will make it again if I need to use up ham, etc. Kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My daughter loved this dish! As other people suggested, I used hashbrowns. Since I used a slightly smaller baking pan than it called for, I cut down on the broccoli and didn't use the mayo. It came out just right. I used a mix of Italian shredded cheese and sprinkled a bit of parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was so tasty and very easy to prepare! I took some of the other suggestions and used hashbrown patties instead of french fries. I popped them in the toaster to defrost them first. I also combined all of the ingredients and added a cup of cheddar cheese. Baked it for 40 minutes then sprinkled with parmesean cheese and more cheddar. I thought with the cream of mushroom soup it would taste like green bean casserole, but it didn't at all. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
First, this recipe is great comfort food. I did add about a cup of Cheddar Cheese to the soup/milk mixture, along with a can of sliced mushrooms. After reading the reviews, I opted to use hashbrowns instead of French Fries, and I shredded my own potatoes rather than using frozen -- mostly to make sure the potatoes would cook thoroughly. They cooked fine, but the dish is really not very appetizing to look at when made this way with hash browns. Next time, I will use potato slices that I parboil for a few minutes first to ensure they cook through. I will also add some sauted onions and garlic, along with some salt and pepper to taste. Will definitely use more Cheddar Cheese next time too. Even without my changes though, I think this is a great comfort food and my whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Followed recipe almost exactly substituting parmasan cheese for monterey jack and cheddar. Was very yummy, gooey and filling. Took only minutes to prepare, my kind of meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States