Ham Pan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
A trick I learned after too many sandwiches turning out raw in the middle? Make your "french toast" first. Cook it until the bread is very lightly browned and remove from skillet. Cool it a little, then top with your ham and cheese and make your sandwich. Then, all you have to do is finish cooking it in the skillet until the cheese is melted. Same outcome, no more raw middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I never manage to cook egg-dipped sandwiches all the way through without burning them, so I made this slightly differently: I dipped the bread in egg, cooked one side in the skillet, removed them and made the sandwich, then returned it to the skillet with the cooked sides facing inwards. Worked out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
For sodium content I reduced the amount of ham by half, and also reduced the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good. Perfect for leftovers. I skipped the Worcestershire and hot sauce and it still came out to be very tasty. Great on a potato roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Great concept! However, I was not fond of the Worcestershire flavor. Make sure to cook over low heat so it heats through and melts the cheese without burning the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Interesting... Pretty good... I used some peach salsa and honey mustard dressing in the sandwich so I changed it up a bit but the dip was very interesting and good I haven't had anything quite like it before. I will probably make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This recipe did not work for me and I just ate the ham out of the middle. I followed the recipe exactly but the flavor was odd and the bread on the inside was soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was awesome!! Made it exactly as the recipe called for, but used colby-jack instead of cheddar, but it was still very, very good! Served with fries, perfect quick meal! Boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I didn't care for this, but I guess when I want a "grilled cheese" I want a crispy traditional grilled cheese sandwich. For those that really like a Monte Cristo type sandwich, this would be an excellent recipe, but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Really nice - perfect hangover food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States