Ham Hash With Sweet Potatoes & Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I make only one change to this recipe, using all sweet potatoes and no white potatoes. Having made the recipe three times, I have to say it is absolutely wonderful the first day, and as left-overs. Originally I used left-over Honey Baked Ham, but have now used a ham steak, and can say both are splendid. Adding some of the glaze from the honey-baked gave it a hint of sweet-spice that was very nice, but even without that, it is delicious. Thanks for a great recipe that doesn't require ten tweaks to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Loved this. This was a standard hash, with some nice twists. The addition of sweet potato and Dijon changed this up nicely. My only change was to use Canadian bacon in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was very good. My daughter is allergic to mustard so I used a bit of cider vinegar. I also cooked some diced celery with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Easy and delicious. I used a bit more of all the seasonings than called for, and garlic salt in place of salt, but that was all I changed. I was worried the potatoes would be raw in the middle, but they were perfect. I love how you can do the prep while you're cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Intersting flavor. Made this for dinner. Wasn't impressed. But I had leftovers for breakfast. Tasted much better and more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
The flavors in this dish really worked well together. I was a bit leary about the ketchup, but it really tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was really good even though I goofed. Bought ham ends at the deli (always less expensive) It wound up being hot ham! The men and teenagers liked it... but the younger kids...Not so much. Will try again with regular ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was very good and very colorful using both kinds of potatoes. I did precook the cubed potatoes just a bit before I added them to the skillet since we do like our potatoes soft. I am not a fan of dijon mustard but I couldn't even tell it was in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I asked my husband to rate this. We didn't think this was bad, but we didn't think it was very good either. It definitely needs something with more substance -- some more flavor. If I try this again, I'll oven roast the potatoes (in bigger pieces), add some garlic and rosemary to the ham mixture, and toss it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This is delicious. I had to omit the sweet potatoes, as I was out, and therefore cut down the ham to about half a pound, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Very easy and doesn't take long at all. I also put this in a tortilla with some shredded cheese and voila---you have a tasty breakfast burrito! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States