Ham Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I also did not include the salt (ham is already very salty and we are watching our sodium intake). I had a leftover ham, so I diced it very small - took a little longer than using packaged ham, but worked just fine. No green onion, so I just left it out. Used a Mexican blend and Italian blend, since that's what I had opened up in the fridge. I think this recipe is forgiving enough that small changes won't hurt it - it is just toooooo yummy!! It smelled so good, I wanted to eat the mixture before I had added the eggs. We don't normally eat fried foods, so this was a little hard on mine and hubbys bellies, I think we may try to bake them next time. Going to follow the directions for breading them and then cook them on parchment paper. I'll try spraying them with a cooking spray to help crisp them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
A little mushy, but a great quick use for leftover meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good. My 5 year old even declared that this is better then Mac and Cheese and is her new favorite food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made these with our leftover holiday ham. I used the food processor to cut up the ham into a consistency where we would have pieces of ham but not chunks. I omitted the garlic (not garlic lovers) and fried in olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter. I used panko breadcrumbs for the outer coating. Recipe made 9 nice-sized patties. They were delicious. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I normally don't write reviews. I actually just used the recipe with ground Turkey and I did not use the cheese as all the croquette's I have ever had didn't have it. We used Peanut Oil for frying and I actually double rolled them in bread crumbs. It was a win all around! Next time I plan on using a food processor to combine it all together a little better and easier to roll them. Either way it was delicious and my husband who makes dinner 99.9% of the time was impressed I actually made them (I don't care to touch raw meat with my hands) and he gave me a high five. Haha Wins all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was really easy to do and it turned out to be really tasty as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
i have tried this recipe and absolutely loved it. i am Cuban and it tasted just like the croquettes that my grandmother used to make. My kids love them and can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
We loved it. My kids are not fans of split pea soup and I had a lot of leftover ham. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Had some ham that was leftover and a bit dry...this is the perfect recipe. We will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I had bought a ham and since there are just 2 of us, even the smallest ham I could find was sure to be enough for several meals. I came across this recipe while looking for things to do with the leftovers after a traditional ham dinner was finished. These were delicious. I have had chicken croquettes before but never ham, so I wasn't sure how good they would be. I'm very glad I gave them a go. I had to substitute shallot for the onion since my last onion went bad on me. I also used panko in the croquettes and Italian breadcrumbs for the coating. Of course I used leftover ham instead of lunch-meat too. Otherwise kept the recipe as stated. Served with sauteed asparagus and it was a wonderful dinner. I'll make these again next time I have leftover ham. These would also be wonderful as an appetizer for a party. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States