Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Same situation, left overs. Made my own stock from bones and scraps, then followed recipe. Wow, so savory and delicious. Froze the leftovers for cold snowy days. Yummy. Making a new batch from our Easter ham as I'm writing this review. You've got to at least try it. Glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was so good! I was looking for a recipe that would use ham stock as I had recently made some from a ham bone...I am so glad I picked this one. Based on other reviewers I reduced the amount of rosemary I used (I cut the entire recipe in half and then only used 1 tsp. of rosemary). Also I mixed it up early in the day and let it simmer on the woodstove all day, added the cream just before serving. Delicious!! Very creamy and the flavors came together nicely after simmering all day. I also found it thickened from cooking all day and I didn't find it to be too thin of a soup. Hubby loved it too and I will definitely be making again. (I did find it quite salty but that was the fault of my ham...if you want less salt I suggest using low sodium bacon and ham.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Rosen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This chowder was incredible!!! I used two springs of fresh rosemary, chopped up, and it was just enough. This is a definite keeper for all my ham leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love54321
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is my go to for potato ham soup. I didn't add the carrots and used half the Rosemary. Made a roux to thicken it. Other than that this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We checked out the reviews and settled on JCP's from 2/16/13. It was awesome. Total depth of flavors. Can't imagine how awesome it'll taste tomorrow after the flavors meld. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was fantastic! Best leftover ham soup I have had. I followed JCP's review on this recipes and used his cooking order, cut back Rosemary to 1.5 TBP and add 1TBP of thyme. Used less cream, about a cup. On day two I let it cook down a little to get a little thicker. Both days the soup had great flavor so you will enjoy it. A whole family favoarite, tasted like something out of a high end restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I used side bacon cut into 1cm cubes... Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Thus is excellent! My husband doesn't like rosemary so I used herb de provence and only used half the quantity. Other than that I followed it exactly. A huge hit! Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. Easy to tweak to your family's taste. Don't like rosemary, use something else, sage would be nice. So much can be down with it.. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I basically stayed true to the recipe I did cut back on the rosemary This is what I used 8 cups chicken stock (mix of can of stock and bouillon cubes) • 4 cups cubed Country ham (brown sugar smoked with apple) Yep my own home cured • 2 tablespoons dried rosemary (give or Take)Home grown dried • 1 pounds bacon, diced (Savory smoked with mahogany) yes my own • 2 large onions, diced (yellow)Home grown • 3 leeks, diced ( store Bought) • 6 cloves garlic, minced (or more) home grown • 6 green onions, diced home grown • 3 large potatoes, cubed (50 count) (Noonan organic ) (peeled and chopped into 3/8 sq. app • 1 pound carrots, cubed (home grown) Danvers half long • 2 cups heavy cream ( no cow so this was purchased)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FINHNTR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States