Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This chowder was incredible!!! I used two springs of fresh rosemary, chopped up, and it was just enough. This is a definite keeper for all my ham leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love54321
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is my go to for potato ham soup. I didn't add the carrots and used half the Rosemary. Made a roux to thicken it. Other than that this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We checked out the reviews and settled on JCP's from 2/16/13. It was awesome. Total depth of flavors. Can't imagine how awesome it'll taste tomorrow after the flavors meld. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was fantastic! Best leftover ham soup I have had. I followed JCP's review on this recipes and used his cooking order, cut back Rosemary to 1.5 TBP and add 1TBP of thyme. Used less cream, about a cup. On day two I let it cook down a little to get a little thicker. Both days the soup had great flavor so you will enjoy it. A whole family favoarite, tasted like something out of a high end restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I used side bacon cut into 1cm cubes... Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Thus is excellent! My husband doesn't like rosemary so I used herb de provence and only used half the quantity. Other than that I followed it exactly. A huge hit! Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. Easy to tweak to your family's taste. Don't like rosemary, use something else, sage would be nice. So much can be down with it.. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I basically stayed true to the recipe I did cut back on the rosemary This is what I used 8 cups chicken stock (mix of can of stock and bouillon cubes) • 4 cups cubed Country ham (brown sugar smoked with apple) Yep my own home cured • 2 tablespoons dried rosemary (give or Take)Home grown dried • 1 pounds bacon, diced (Savory smoked with mahogany) yes my own • 2 large onions, diced (yellow)Home grown • 3 leeks, diced ( store Bought) • 6 cloves garlic, minced (or more) home grown • 6 green onions, diced home grown • 3 large potatoes, cubed (50 count) (Noonan organic ) (peeled and chopped into 3/8 sq. app • 1 pound carrots, cubed (home grown) Danvers half long • 2 cups heavy cream ( no cow so this was purchased)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FINHNTR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used some leftover mashed potatoes as well as cubed potatoes. I also had some leftover cauliflower that I added to this recipe. It was delicious! I am not a big fan of rosemary so I omitted it and just used salt and pepper to flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Made as written except decreased rosemary- disappointed - a lot of work for mediocre soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States