Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is a very tasty and hardy soup! The smokiness of the bacon and ham was complemented well by the rosemary. I was concerned that the amount of leek and onions may be overpowering, but they balanced the soup nicely with their sweetness. Excellent use of leftover ham. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This is one tasty chowder! I used 1% milk and thickened to my liking with potato flakes after being refrigerated for 1 day so that I could skim the excess hardened fat. I added some dried parsley just to add a touch of green to the dish. This tastes so good after the flavors fully meld after a day or so that it will be a great meal to make on the weekend and enjoy on a busy work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Easy to make, aromatic, flavorful, and better the second day than the first! I shredded the carrots instead of dicing them, and they really added color all through the dish. Only thing missing was some fresh ground pepper, which was easy to fix. I will certainly be making this again, it was a hit with my whole family. Sprinkle a little bacon and chredded cheddar on top, and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Best soup I have ever made! I wouldn't change a thing. If you like full flavor, then this soup is for you... I did freeze some of it because it does make a lot. It turned out just as good after it was frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was great! I was browsing for a recipe for my leftover Christmas ham, and I just happened to have all the other ingredients on hand (even a leek!) The only thing I modified (besides using a little less of most of the veggies and bacon than the recipe called for, but only because I didn't have on hand as much as the recipe called for) was to follow the other's advice for cutting down on the rosemary. I use crushed rosemary, and two teaspoons was plenty...still had the flavor, but it wasn't overpowering at all. I had enough to feed five of us tonight, and froze the other half for another cold night when I don't have time to cook. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alemap
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe, and I was able to use my beautiful new red Le Creuset dutch oven too that I received for Christmas! Leftover Christmas ham was perfect, I used a honey baked ham instead of the country ham, and added leftover mashed potatoes with the heavy cream for more of a creamy kick. My boyfriend and I will be freezing the bulk of it to enjoy in the coming months. Wonderful recipe, and a fabulous way to use those Christmas leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alemap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
It is much better than I even thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was GREAT! I thought it was a lot of rosemary, but it gave the soup such a great flavor. I used milk instead of cream to cut the fat, and it was just as good. Will make again whenever I have leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was very good. I eliminated the rosemary- I don't like it. I added a little potato flakes to thicken the broth. This was a very hearty soup... very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Very Yummy! I didn't add ANY rosemary and I used only 1/2 lb of bacon and it was still very delicious. I also mashed a few potatoes for thickness. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States