Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was great! I was browsing for a recipe for my leftover Christmas ham, and I just happened to have all the other ingredients on hand (even a leek!) The only thing I modified (besides using a little less of most of the veggies and bacon than the recipe called for, but only because I didn't have on hand as much as the recipe called for) was to follow the other's advice for cutting down on the rosemary. I use crushed rosemary, and two teaspoons was plenty...still had the flavor, but it wasn't overpowering at all. I had enough to feed five of us tonight, and froze the other half for another cold night when I don't have time to cook. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This recipe called for way too much rosemary. When I made it, I halfed it and it still tasted too strong. The rest of the ingredients went fine together. Maybe using a 1/4 of the amount of rosemary would make it more desireable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This is one tasty chowder! I used 1% milk and thickened to my liking with potato flakes after being refrigerated for 1 day so that I could skim the excess hardened fat. I added some dried parsley just to add a touch of green to the dish. This tastes so good after the flavors fully meld after a day or so that it will be a great meal to make on the weekend and enjoy on a busy work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Easy to make, aromatic, flavorful, and better the second day than the first! I shredded the carrots instead of dicing them, and they really added color all through the dish. Only thing missing was some fresh ground pepper, which was easy to fix. I will certainly be making this again, it was a hit with my whole family. Sprinkle a little bacon and chredded cheddar on top, and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alemap
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe, and I was able to use my beautiful new red Le Creuset dutch oven too that I received for Christmas! Leftover Christmas ham was perfect, I used a honey baked ham instead of the country ham, and added leftover mashed potatoes with the heavy cream for more of a creamy kick. My boyfriend and I will be freezing the bulk of it to enjoy in the coming months. Wonderful recipe, and a fabulous way to use those Christmas leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alemap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I changed the cooking order. Browned the bacon in the soup pot (Only one pound). Removed bacon and added a couple Tablespoons of butter. Cooked the onion and leeks till soft, added the carrots, 2 chopped celery stalks and cooked for about ten minutes. Added about a third of a cup of flour to make a roux, let cook for about a minute, stirring constantly. Added the chicken broth, and ham. Brought to a simmer. Added about a 1 1/2 tsp dried crushed rosemary and about 1 1/2 tsp dried thyme. Let simmer for about 15 minutes while I diced the potatoes. Added potatoes and let simmer for about 1/2 hour. Used a potato masher in the pot to mash some of the potatoes to bring it to the consistency I was looking for. Added one cup of cream. Served garnished with chopped scallions and cheddar cheese, fresh ground pepper, along with hot sourdough bread and a nice red wine. This was fabulous!! Such a big pot, great for planned overs!! Timing note: Preparation took me an hour and a half. Lots of peeling and chopping, but it was well worth it. I did add another 2 Cups of Chicken broth towards the end. I think next time I might add a cup or 2 of frozen peas towards the end of the cooking time for a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious, delicious, delicious. Ok, so I'm giving it 5 stars even with a change. However, the only change I made was to the rosemary. I used fresh, about 2 tsp, and it was great. I enjoy the taste and smell of rosemary. Some don't like it too strong. Use some of your sense and use to the strength you prefer. I might even use more next time. This recipe makes enough to freeze some or to serve to a large party. This chowder was so very delicious and rich, not a light soup. I will use this recipe over and over. I thought it had a nice velvety thickness, though it was a little thinner than chowder. If I wanted to thicken I'd try mashed potatoes or a little flour. It's great the next day, the leeks/onions seem like a lot but they work beautifully. I also used my homemade turkey stock as a base. I'm passing this one along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Best soup I have ever made! I wouldn't change a thing. If you like full flavor, then this soup is for you... I did freeze some of it because it does make a lot. It turned out just as good after it was frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is a very tasty and hardy soup! The smokiness of the bacon and ham was complemented well by the rosemary. I was concerned that the amount of leek and onions may be overpowering, but they balanced the soup nicely with their sweetness. Excellent use of leftover ham. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Rosemary should be teaspoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States