Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was great! I was browsing for a recipe for my leftover Christmas ham, and I just happened to have all the other ingredients on hand (even a leek!) The only thing I modified (besides using a little less of most of the veggies and bacon than the recipe called for, but only because I didn't have on hand as much as the recipe called for) was to follow the other's advice for cutting down on the rosemary. I use crushed rosemary, and two teaspoons was plenty...still had the flavor, but it wasn't overpowering at all. I had enough to feed five of us tonight, and froze the other half for another cold night when I don't have time to cook. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This recipe called for way too much rosemary. When I made it, I halfed it and it still tasted too strong. The rest of the ingredients went fine together. Maybe using a 1/4 of the amount of rosemary would make it more desireable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This is one tasty chowder! I used 1% milk and thickened to my liking with potato flakes after being refrigerated for 1 day so that I could skim the excess hardened fat. I added some dried parsley just to add a touch of green to the dish. This tastes so good after the flavors fully meld after a day or so that it will be a great meal to make on the weekend and enjoy on a busy work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Easy to make, aromatic, flavorful, and better the second day than the first! I shredded the carrots instead of dicing them, and they really added color all through the dish. Only thing missing was some fresh ground pepper, which was easy to fix. I will certainly be making this again, it was a hit with my whole family. Sprinkle a little bacon and chredded cheddar on top, and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alemap
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe, and I was able to use my beautiful new red Le Creuset dutch oven too that I received for Christmas! Leftover Christmas ham was perfect, I used a honey baked ham instead of the country ham, and added leftover mashed potatoes with the heavy cream for more of a creamy kick. My boyfriend and I will be freezing the bulk of it to enjoy in the coming months. Wonderful recipe, and a fabulous way to use those Christmas leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alemap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Best soup I have ever made! I wouldn't change a thing. If you like full flavor, then this soup is for you... I did freeze some of it because it does make a lot. It turned out just as good after it was frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious, delicious, delicious. Ok, so I'm giving it 5 stars even with a change. However, the only change I made was to the rosemary. I used fresh, about 2 tsp, and it was great. I enjoy the taste and smell of rosemary. Some don't like it too strong. Use some of your sense and use to the strength you prefer. I might even use more next time. This recipe makes enough to freeze some or to serve to a large party. This chowder was so very delicious and rich, not a light soup. I will use this recipe over and over. I thought it had a nice velvety thickness, though it was a little thinner than chowder. If I wanted to thicken I'd try mashed potatoes or a little flour. It's great the next day, the leeks/onions seem like a lot but they work beautifully. I also used my homemade turkey stock as a base. I'm passing this one along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is a very tasty and hardy soup! The smokiness of the bacon and ham was complemented well by the rosemary. I was concerned that the amount of leek and onions may be overpowering, but they balanced the soup nicely with their sweetness. Excellent use of leftover ham. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Rosemary should be teaspoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Not good...WAY too much rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States