Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is a very tasty and hardy soup! The smokiness of the bacon and ham was complemented well by the rosemary. I was concerned that the amount of leek and onions may be overpowering, but they balanced the soup nicely with their sweetness. Excellent use of leftover ham. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Easy to make, aromatic, flavorful, and better the second day than the first! I shredded the carrots instead of dicing them, and they really added color all through the dish. Only thing missing was some fresh ground pepper, which was easy to fix. I will certainly be making this again, it was a hit with my whole family. Sprinkle a little bacon and chredded cheddar on top, and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
It is much better than I even thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This is one tasty chowder! I used 1% milk and thickened to my liking with potato flakes after being refrigerated for 1 day so that I could skim the excess hardened fat. I added some dried parsley just to add a touch of green to the dish. This tastes so good after the flavors fully meld after a day or so that it will be a great meal to make on the weekend and enjoy on a busy work night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This recipe called for way too much rosemary. When I made it, I halfed it and it still tasted too strong. The rest of the ingredients went fine together. Maybe using a 1/4 of the amount of rosemary would make it more desireable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This makes a LOT of chowder, that usually works for my large family, but I cut this back (and still had leftovers). I took others' suggestions and cut the total rosemary in half. We also left out 1/2 the bacon, 1 onion, 1/2 the carrots and all the green onion. I added black pepper and a little paprika then served with cheese sprinkled on top. My kids didn't wat it at all and my husband thought the leeks too over powering (he'd give it a two), but I thought it had great flavor overall (I'd give it a four). Even better served over crumbled corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Surprisingly light and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Best soup I have ever made! I wouldn't change a thing. If you like full flavor, then this soup is for you... I did freeze some of it because it does make a lot. It turned out just as good after it was frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alemap
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe, and I was able to use my beautiful new red Le Creuset dutch oven too that I received for Christmas! Leftover Christmas ham was perfect, I used a honey baked ham instead of the country ham, and added leftover mashed potatoes with the heavy cream for more of a creamy kick. My boyfriend and I will be freezing the bulk of it to enjoy in the coming months. Wonderful recipe, and a fabulous way to use those Christmas leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alemap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States