Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Not good...WAY too much rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Absolutely the best soup I've ever had.I took the other reviewers advice and only added 2 tbsp of rosemary,and also added potatoe flakes at the end to thicken it a little,great recipe and great suggestions from the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Didn't care for the rosemary.. Followed directions didnt like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
WOW! This soup is amazing! So incredibly flavorful! I don't know how much rosemary I used, just poured some into my palm and rubbed it into the pot. I made half the recipe and had enough to freeze for next time. My finicky 3yo even ate it! Next time I think I will microwave the bacon and sautee the onion/leek/garlic in a little butter to better control the fat. It was a bit on the salty side, might go with a low sodium stock next time. Although, if I didn't want to make any changes I wouldn't this was amazing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was super tasty but only use about 1 tsp of rosemary. I left out the leeks and the green onions (didn't have any) and I added some potato flakes after the cream to thicken the broth out a bit. All in All, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Very good!I took the other reviewers advice and only added 2 tbsp of rosemary,and also added potatoe flakes at the end to thicken it a little, but other than that super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I would have given a higher review if there was no Rosemary in here. It was waaaaay too much! Tasted like perfume and I was diappointed because I had worked so hard on this soup. I'd say try it but omit the Rosemary or use very little. I also added frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Great chowder! I added one thing to the recipe. I added a spicy hot dog (sliced) that I had bought at Sprouts. My kids said they were too spicy to eat but they added a nice overall spicy flavor to the recipe. We like our spice in Texas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Very Yummy! I didn't add ANY rosemary and I used only 1/2 lb of bacon and it was still very delicious. I also mashed a few potatoes for thickness. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was very good. I eliminated the rosemary- I don't like it. I added a little potato flakes to thicken the broth. This was a very hearty soup... very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States