Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I loved this soup as did my family including the kids. I did not read the recipe carefully before shopping and only bought one pound of bacon by accident. It still turned out great and I think 2 pounds would be too much as it turns out. The only other change was that I did not use 4 tablespoons of rosemary because it smelled so strong with just two tablespoons that I opted not to use the rest. I actually strained the rosemary out after a few minutes...it left a light flavor without being too overpowering. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipes is absolutely amazing!! I did make a few changes and substitutions. I didn't use nearly as much rosemary, probably cut back to 1 TBS. As another user suggested I used potato flakes to thicken some. I didn't have leeks or green onions and just doubled the amount regular onions. I used chicken bouillon instead of ham stock, although the next time i bake a ham I will make this recipe again. I asked the deli for a 2 lb chunk of domestic ham and i cubed it myself. I only used 1 lb of bacon and added a little extra drippings. I didn't have heavy cream so i used evaporated milk instead. Goes great with rye bread and taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
We were pleasantly surprised by how nicely all the flavors complimented each other in this recipe. My husband said, "This is the best soup in the world". I did as the previous reviewers suggested and cut the rosemary by a little more than half, and I also sauteed the leeks with the onion mixture for about 15 minutes before adding to the pot. Outstanding flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this recipe last night and first of all I would not call it a chowder at all, it's more like a soup, a little thicker than chicken noodle soup. I tried to thicken it up with cornstarch but it was still very thin. I didn't use near as many veggies as the recipe called for either, thats A LOT of ingredients for only 8 cups of chicken stock! The taste was excellent though. Next time I make it, I'm going to reduce the amount of chicken stock and use milk instead to turn it into a "chowder." Oh and I also only used 2 tsp of rosemary as suggested by other reviewers, this was the perfect amount in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akakizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I had Christmas leftovers and tried this recipe to get rid of them. Everyone raved about it and wanted the recipe. I have made it over and over again since then. My adjustments: as said, cut way back on rosemary and add pepper. Also, one key thing I did was used lots of homemade mashed potatoes (boiled, mashed, buttered) instead of chuncks. It was creamy and very good texture. I have tried adding green beans, using turkey bacon, using non dairy coffee creamer instad of cream.. you name it! No matter what, it is always a hit. Key note: it is better the longer it sits. I make it and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I just used it for gravy over biscuits this morning. So many options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
way too much rosemary. I didn't see the rosemary comments since my husband printed the recipe out for me. I love spices but I was wondering if it should have said 2 tsp. not tablsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I didn't have rosemary or leeks so left those ingredients out. This soup is very good with lots of flavor and the texture is very nice. Just a warning to those who might wish to thicken up the soup with potato flakes or mashed potatoes: this will change the velvety smooth, creamy texture to a coarse, grainy texture. I tried it and regretted it from the moment it hit my tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Everyone really liked this recipe. I only used 2 tsp. rosemary and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I switched this recipe up for a great taste. I used 2 cups of ham, 1 box of precooked bacon, 1 large onion, 2 diced green onions, 4 large oven baked potatoes, 1/4 tsp oregano, pepper, garlic and 1 1/2 tsp salt. I omitted the rosemary and leeks. These changes greatly reduced the cooking time and enhanced the flavor immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
AS with most recipes I use, I always modify them to my tastes. I loved this recipe!! It provided a great base to dabble with. Many other reviewers complained about the amount of rosemary in this recipe. You need to know yourself and know your tastes. If you do not like a lot of rosemary, then put a little in the pot. I only used 2 tsp and that was the perfect amount!! I also puréed some of the chowder to thicken it!! Lovely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Lugo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States