Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Wonderful. Use advise from others and used perhaps only 1 t of Rosemary, and only 1 lb Bacon. 2 lbs Bacon scared me. Also added in some left over Mased Potatoes to thicken up. Feed to 5 People who all enjoyed very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This turned out really good. I looked at other reviews and use less rosemary as suggested. The bacon really gave this some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was delicious! Made a few changes by using only half of the rosemary and substituting fresh for dry, as well as adding some fresh thyme. We couldn't find a leek, but it was good anyway. Used half and half instead of cream so it wasn't too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This turned out very salty when we made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I left out the rosemary and added 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to thicken it up and give it a nice rich flavor. I also added 1 tblspoon of chives! Family loved it served with fresh italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was pretty good. I didnt have the leek so it was omitted. I also only used 1 and half large onions and omitted the green onions. As others, there was way too much rosemary for my liking so I only used 2 tablespoons and that was almost too much. I also added a teaspoon of black pepper, 2 celery stalks, an extra cup of ham and another couple potatoes. All in all though this is a very flavourful recipe. With some minor adjustments to suit the tastes of my family it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This soup was excellent! We left out the ham and used about a cup of chopped smoked bacon and it was plenty of meat. We also added a can of corn. It might be better the next day, but we wouldn't know because our family of 5 ate it all at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I loved this soup as did my family including the kids. I did not read the recipe carefully before shopping and only bought one pound of bacon by accident. It still turned out great and I think 2 pounds would be too much as it turns out. The only other change was that I did not use 4 tablespoons of rosemary because it smelled so strong with just two tablespoons that I opted not to use the rest. I actually strained the rosemary out after a few minutes...it left a light flavor without being too overpowering. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipes is absolutely amazing!! I did make a few changes and substitutions. I didn't use nearly as much rosemary, probably cut back to 1 TBS. As another user suggested I used potato flakes to thicken some. I didn't have leeks or green onions and just doubled the amount regular onions. I used chicken bouillon instead of ham stock, although the next time i bake a ham I will make this recipe again. I asked the deli for a 2 lb chunk of domestic ham and i cubed it myself. I only used 1 lb of bacon and added a little extra drippings. I didn't have heavy cream so i used evaporated milk instead. Goes great with rye bread and taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
We were pleasantly surprised by how nicely all the flavors complimented each other in this recipe. My husband said, "This is the best soup in the world". I did as the previous reviewers suggested and cut the rosemary by a little more than half, and I also sauteed the leeks with the onion mixture for about 15 minutes before adding to the pot. Outstanding flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States