Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very Good. I had ham stock and did not want to waste it so I went in search of a recipe...I found this one and had all other ingredient on hand so I tried it. Boy am I glad, my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was very good! So good, that my husband said this is in his top 5 favorites! I know a lot of reviews mentioned the rosemary, however, I liked it. I think it added a nice taste. Very flavorful! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was a very good base recipe. I took the advise of many reviewers and used 1/2 the rosemary and added about 1 tbl garlic. To make it a little healthier I omitted the bacon, used 1% milk and added fresh spinach. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
So good, I added some red and green bell peppers to it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I made this chowder exactly as directed. I did not care for it. There was way to much bacon for me and not nearly enough broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The Best Ham Chowder Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Rexrode

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made this on Tuesday night and we ate it tonight. Very good! I only used 1 T Rosemary and I added 1 T Thyme. Put 1/2 of the Chowder in a large bowl and used my immersion blender on it, then added back to the pot. Loved the way it had chunks and thickness. Didn't add the bacon until closer to serving, added 1 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese and diced green onions when I added the cream. As others have done I shredded the carrots and cooked with the onions, kale and garlic. My husband and I loved this. Will freeze the rest. Made a huge pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Yum! I only used 1 pound of bacon, and added corn. Loved the texture and taste. Everyone had seconds. I served it with salad and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this a while back and forgot to review it! It was delicious but I did make it a little more saucier by adding a little more chicken stock. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Wonderful. Use advise from others and used perhaps only 1 t of Rosemary, and only 1 lb Bacon. 2 lbs Bacon scared me. Also added in some left over Mased Potatoes to thicken up. Feed to 5 People who all enjoyed very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States