Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made this on Tuesday night and we ate it tonight. Very good! I only used 1 T Rosemary and I added 1 T Thyme. Put 1/2 of the Chowder in a large bowl and used my immersion blender on it, then added back to the pot. Loved the way it had chunks and thickness. Didn't add the bacon until closer to serving, added 1 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese and diced green onions when I added the cream. As others have done I shredded the carrots and cooked with the onions, kale and garlic. My husband and I loved this. Will freeze the rest. Made a huge pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Yum! I only used 1 pound of bacon, and added corn. Loved the texture and taste. Everyone had seconds. I served it with salad and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this a while back and forgot to review it! It was delicious but I did make it a little more saucier by adding a little more chicken stock. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Wonderful. Use advise from others and used perhaps only 1 t of Rosemary, and only 1 lb Bacon. 2 lbs Bacon scared me. Also added in some left over Mased Potatoes to thicken up. Feed to 5 People who all enjoyed very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This turned out really good. I looked at other reviews and use less rosemary as suggested. The bacon really gave this some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was delicious! Made a few changes by using only half of the rosemary and substituting fresh for dry, as well as adding some fresh thyme. We couldn't find a leek, but it was good anyway. Used half and half instead of cream so it wasn't too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This turned out very salty when we made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I left out the rosemary and added 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to thicken it up and give it a nice rich flavor. I also added 1 tblspoon of chives! Family loved it served with fresh italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was pretty good. I didnt have the leek so it was omitted. I also only used 1 and half large onions and omitted the green onions. As others, there was way too much rosemary for my liking so I only used 2 tablespoons and that was almost too much. I also added a teaspoon of black pepper, 2 celery stalks, an extra cup of ham and another couple potatoes. All in all though this is a very flavourful recipe. With some minor adjustments to suit the tastes of my family it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This soup was excellent! We left out the ham and used about a cup of chopped smoked bacon and it was plenty of meat. We also added a can of corn. It might be better the next day, but we wouldn't know because our family of 5 ate it all at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States