Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was really good I didn't use bacon & didn't have leeks but used some cabbage and lots of fresh herbs (thyme, dill, rosemary, parsley) very good. Worked great for the hambone from Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I loved it! My picky eater girls (ages 2 and 5) ate it. My 5 year old said she liked it a little bit.. which is a pretty good rating considering she finished her whole bowl! I think it would have been better with a little less Rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was really good, but mine turned out WAY too salty for our taste. Next time, I will put in 1/2 the bacon and also try to find low/no sodium chicken broth (if they have that in Germany) to cut down on the salt. But this was a great alternative to clam chowder that the kids are more likely to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is soooo good!!! The only problem I had with it-and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5-is that it is super salty. I don't know what to do about it. Low sodium everything maybe? I added extra cream and that helped a little, but made it more soupy. I like the idea of blending some of it and pouring it back in. I think some Velveeta would probably be good in it also. Just to note, I couldn't get leeks, didn't use carrots since the man doesn't like them, and I didn't have rosemary. It had great flavor, very filling, and the kids ate it up. I already know my husband will love it since it has quite a bit of meat. I'm looking forward to seeing what it tastes like tomorrow. Give this a try, it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'm not a big fan of rosemary, so I just put a touch in - and absolutely loved it. I made it for a big family get together and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Awesome, I used only 2 tbsp of rosemary while simmering, then removed with sive and discarded before adding other ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Yum!! I didn't use rosemary because I was out, but put a little sage in instead. Also, I think this was super tasty day one! The recipe makes a TON, but that just means theres more to be had another night when we're eating out of the freezer! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Never had leeks before, but they were good. Kids didn't care for it, but they don't really like ham....Didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great Hardy Soup!! I modified alittle, had no leeks, added celery, didn't use as much rosemary. It was/is (I froze individual portions) so good. I was very happy, thank you for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilDawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very Good. I had ham stock and did not want to waste it so I went in search of a recipe...I found this one and had all other ingredient on hand so I tried it. Boy am I glad, my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States