Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Like some of the previous cooks, I drastically cut back on the rosemary. Basically, one tablespoon is already more than enough! I used sweet potatoes instead of white and since my ham wasn't too salty, I added some of my Alaska Pure Sea Salt, Alder smoked flavor for an added kick. Overall, good change from the same 'ol chowder recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Incredible flavor! I actually doubled the recipe for a large party. Rave reviews from everyone that had it. Loved the Rosemary in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was really good albeit a bit salty. Did not use country ham but leftover baked ham. Didn't have the leeks and green onions but it was still delicious although a bit salty. Next time I'd like to follow the recipe exactly but use low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
had guests over and it was a hit. glad I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was really good I didn't use bacon & didn't have leeks but used some cabbage and lots of fresh herbs (thyme, dill, rosemary, parsley) very good. Worked great for the hambone from Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I loved it! My picky eater girls (ages 2 and 5) ate it. My 5 year old said she liked it a little bit.. which is a pretty good rating considering she finished her whole bowl! I think it would have been better with a little less Rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was really good, but mine turned out WAY too salty for our taste. Next time, I will put in 1/2 the bacon and also try to find low/no sodium chicken broth (if they have that in Germany) to cut down on the salt. But this was a great alternative to clam chowder that the kids are more likely to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is soooo good!!! The only problem I had with it-and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5-is that it is super salty. I don't know what to do about it. Low sodium everything maybe? I added extra cream and that helped a little, but made it more soupy. I like the idea of blending some of it and pouring it back in. I think some Velveeta would probably be good in it also. Just to note, I couldn't get leeks, didn't use carrots since the man doesn't like them, and I didn't have rosemary. It had great flavor, very filling, and the kids ate it up. I already know my husband will love it since it has quite a bit of meat. I'm looking forward to seeing what it tastes like tomorrow. Give this a try, it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'm not a big fan of rosemary, so I just put a touch in - and absolutely loved it. I made it for a big family get together and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Awesome, I used only 2 tbsp of rosemary while simmering, then removed with sive and discarded before adding other ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States