Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This will be my go to recipe when I need to make something with my leftover Easter ham! As I was making this I kept thinking that there would be too much bacon,onion rosemary and leeks, so I did make changes and used 1 lb bacon, 1 lg. onion, 2 leeks, about 1 tsp minced fresh rosemary and I put my ham bone into Low sodium broth for about an hour for additional flavor. It probably would have been wonderful if I hadn't made any changes, although the rosemary is obviously an error. I found that with all the wonderful flavors going on, there was never a need to salt this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I give this recipe a 4 and a half! I did not use 2 lb of bacon like the recipie asks for, and no rosemary, but it still turned out great! A good use for that left over ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Pros: +Good texture +Easy to modify based on personal preference +Simple to make +Makes a large batch and saves well Cons: -Way too much rosemary. I have to assume the author meant tsp, not Tbsp. -Ratio of ingredients seemed off -Hard to make in a standard 8 qt pan, almost needed a bigger pot -Expensive I made some adjustments to the recipe for the second go-around. -Decreased ham to 3 C -Increased potato to ~3.5 lb -Decreased rosemary to 2 tsp -Increased garlic to 6 cloves -Decreased bacon to 1.5 lb -Instead of dicing carrots, used 1 lb bag of frozen peas & carrots, and .5 lb of frozen corn -Substituted half & half for heavy cream -Added pepper to taste Making these changes resulted in a chowder more to my family's liking, plus making it less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Just made this tonight but with some changes.I didn't have the garlic, leeks or rosemary,but it didn't need it.It was extremely tasty! I also used Turkey stock because that's all I had.I also only used one pound of bacon and one large onion. I added corn also and like one of the other reviewers suggested,I thickened it up with instant potato flakes. It made a HUGE pot and came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Didn't have any rosemary, so I couldnt use too much. Added a tsp of dried mustard to the broth and a bit of dill weed when I added the cream. My family loved this!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
we did not use full amount of rosemary, platly because of other reviews and partly because i didn't have enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious, delicious, delicious. Ok, so I'm giving it 5 stars even with a change. However, the only change I made was to the rosemary. I used fresh, about 2 tsp, and it was great. I enjoy the taste and smell of rosemary. Some don't like it too strong. Use some of your sense and use to the strength you prefer. I might even use more next time. This recipe makes enough to freeze some or to serve to a large party. This chowder was so very delicious and rich, not a light soup. I will use this recipe over and over. I thought it had a nice velvety thickness, though it was a little thinner than chowder. If I wanted to thicken I'd try mashed potatoes or a little flour. It's great the next day, the leeks/onions seem like a lot but they work beautifully. I also used my homemade turkey stock as a base. I'm passing this one along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
very good. sprinkled with cheese and bacon bits. yum!! used red skin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Good with the omission of the rosemary. Also added mushrooms and red pepper, did not add leeks and green onion, just used yellow onion. Simmered with a bay leaf, parsley, sage, coriander and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States