Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I am a vegetarian, but made this for my family. They said it was good, but had way too much rosemary. I will trying only 2T next time. I'm hoping it will not be so overpowering tomorrow. I did crush my rosemary a bit first. I did not have bacon, but had bacon grease stored, so I cooked the veggies in that and coconut oil, which actually saved time, but I didn't have bacon. I used leftover ham from Christmas and ham stock I had made from the ham bones. I will make this again, and lessen the rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this today with leftover Christmas ham. It was delicious. I didn't have leeks and I used about 1 cup of half and half instead of the heavy cream and only about 1T of rosemary. If you are looking for a way to use up leftover ham, try this recipe. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very good recipe! Loved it! Like others cut down on the Rosemary to 1 tsp and threw in a little dried parsley. Also, used half and half instead of heavy cream. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is a very rich soup. If you like bacon and ham (which I do), it should be fine. Don't plan on gobbling down bowl after bowl though, as it's a bit salty and the flavor is extremely strong. Would be great served at a wedding or some sort of formal dinner where your portion size is extremely limited. I used a home made ham stock, which may have added to the flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very good. I did double the heavy cream. Maybe next time I'll decrease the dried rosemary by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
We all liked it. I thought the recipe was too heavy on the Rosemary, so I only added half (which was plenty). Perhaps it is supposed to be measured in tsps, not Tbsp (4 Tbsp is equal to 1/4 c)? I omitted the onion, thinking that leeks and green onions would be enough. I substituted Half & Half for the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Best soup I ever made! This rich and creamy soup was really outstanding, but I made two major changes to the recipe only because I didn't have the bacon and cream: I used whole milk and cornstarch as thickener in place of the heavy cream and used only one pan to prepare the chowder. Also, I began by sauteing diced turkey bacon instead of regular bacon, removing it from the pan and adding the country ham and sauteing it briefly in order to release some of the fat and juices into the pan. I then removed the ham, added a couple of tbsps. of butter and a little grapeseed oil to keep the butter from burning and sauteed the onions well, then added the leeks and garlic (didn't have the green onions on hand). Adding some of the broth next allows you to deglaze the pan and scrape up the yummy bits that have collected on the bottom of the pan and helps to create the savoriness that makes this soup a standout! I'm sure the original recipe is terrific, as well:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Townsend, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Rosemary should be teaspoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I only used 1 tsp dried rosemary and it was perfect. Not overwhelming in the least. Only used 1 pound of bacon and 2% milk instead of heavy cream to cut back on the fat. It was still absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Very tasty. I only used 1and1/2 tbls. rosemary. Taste 10 times better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States