Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very filling and tasty! Remember not to use sweet (or glazed) ham because it makes sweeter ham stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Tasty, but rosemary was too strong (I should have read other reviews beforehand). However, my main issue with it was how thin it was. I had to add quite a bit of flour to thicken it up. I sprinkled in some pepper and added some chopped string beans for more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
WOW that's a lot of rosemary!!! That MUST be a typo. I used 1/2 Tbsp and it is plenty! As an aside, I make a similar soup without the carrots (and rosemary), and it's just as good with or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Love this recipe. I left out the potatoes to control the starch. Also a little red pepper flakes. When I need it thicken I also use potato flakes. Plan on trying this with cabbage as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
i used left over ham from our Easter dinner for this. it was very easy to make and i loved the rosemary in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
A lot of work chopping but a very good recipe. A full meal when served with garlic/parmesan bread or pita bread and hummus. I only used about 1/2 lb of bacon and that was plenty. I chopped the carrots very finely and mashed the potatoes. I don't like big chunks of potatoes in a soup. The mashed potatoes made it even creamier which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe and is the best thing for left-over baked ham. BUT, the estimates for preparation/cooking time are just wrong. It says 40 minutes prep time. Maybe that would be the case if I already had all the veggie, ham and bacon chopped and diced. But both times I've made it it has taken me at least 1.75 hours to get to the point where I have a pot of soup simmering on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I changed the cooking order. Browned the bacon in the soup pot (Only one pound). Removed bacon and added a couple Tablespoons of butter. Cooked the onion and leeks till soft, added the carrots, 2 chopped celery stalks and cooked for about ten minutes. Added about a third of a cup of flour to make a roux, let cook for about a minute, stirring constantly. Added the chicken broth, and ham. Brought to a simmer. Added about a 1 1/2 tsp dried crushed rosemary and about 1 1/2 tsp dried thyme. Let simmer for about 15 minutes while I diced the potatoes. Added potatoes and let simmer for about 1/2 hour. Used a potato masher in the pot to mash some of the potatoes to bring it to the consistency I was looking for. Added one cup of cream. Served garnished with chopped scallions and cheddar cheese, fresh ground pepper, along with hot sourdough bread and a nice red wine. This was fabulous!! Such a big pot, great for planned overs!! Timing note: Preparation took me an hour and a half. Lots of peeling and chopping, but it was well worth it. I did add another 2 Cups of Chicken broth towards the end. I think next time I might add a cup or 2 of frozen peas towards the end of the cooking time for a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
i made a rue thickening for this chowder to thicken it up and only used 2tsp of rosemary instead of the recomended amount recipe came out great though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackwidow7293

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this exactly as stated but reduced the rosemary as other posts suggested. There was a lot of prep for this soup and the results were disappointing. It was just okay. Two pounds of bacon are too much. Really felt like this was a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States