Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was just OK. Very bland and too much bread crumbs made it dry. I had to throw out the left overs because no one would come back for seconds. I'll try it again using some of the suggestions offered by other raters and maybe a couple of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T and I think it turned out great! Prep work took a lot of time though so this is definitely a weekend meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
So good, the pan was wiped clean. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Somewhat bland. I added lots of fresh ground pepper and dill, but it wasn't enough to wow me. I highly suggest extra seasoning. I used a smoky, picante flavored provolone cheese instead of the cheddar for an extra kick, which was great. I also subbed in sweet red and orange peppers for the green bell pepper and doubled the amount of carrots and celery. I will probably make this again, but with extra seasoning. Great for leftover ham after a holiday or once spiral hams are on deep discount following the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this today, I thought it was great, reminds me of Mac and cheese, just two of us ,we ate half tonight and will polish it off tomorrow , will NOT serve 8, unless they are small children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Weird, but not offensive. The kids wouldn't eat it, so I threw a frozen pizza into the oven for them. The milk/cheese layer wasn't able to be poured because it was a congealed glob, so I spread it on top and there it stayed even after baking. It didn't seep into the cracks and crevices like I expected. Also, far too much prep work, pre-cooking, and dirty dishes to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is so good, perfect comfort food. There is no way this would feed 8 people. It feeds about 4. other than that, the recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very, very good - even with my changes. There are only 2 of us so I cut the amount of potatoes and ham in half. After the casserole was built, I felt like it was actually too saucy (hard for me to imagine!) so I added a really well drained bag of thawed, frozen spinach. It worked but we still ended up with one meal for tonight and one to freeze (YEA!). I only used one pot for the prep - when the potato group was done cooking and draining, I used the same pot to cook the rest of the veggies and ham. Then they were mixed in with the potatoes and the sauce was constructed using the same pot - it worked just fine. Thanks for the recipe - we'll use it often for our left over ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made recipe pretty much how it's written except for bell peppers (hate them). It was a hit with everyone and leftovers were just as good if not better. I will be using this recipe for leftover ham again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This recipe was the perfect casserole to use up the leftover ham from the holidays. I preferred this over scalloped potatoes because it has other veggies in it - and goodness knows it is hard enough to find a way to get the kids to eat their veggies. I doubled the carrots, onions and peppers and there was plenty of sauce to cover it all. Another plus was that it was easy to make and used ingredients I always have on hand. I will be making this one every time I buy a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States