Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
We love this, and make it everytime we have left over ham. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was very well recieved by the family. I skipped the roux and added 1/3 cup cheese blend powder to the milk and only used enough shredded cheddar to sprinkle a token amount over the top. This helped me keep the fat down but it remained creamy and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Used my leftover ham with this recipe. My daughter asked for a 2nd serving. The cheesy gravy on top was the kicker for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was very good. The only changes I will make the next time will be to be sure and drain the ham/onion mixture before adding it to the potatoes. I would also stir the sauce into the casserole rather than just pouring it over the top. The flavor was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My family loved it. I don't agree that it will serve 8. At least not 8 adults. I think 4-6 is a more accurate number. I was rushed for time so I used southern style frozen has browns (the chunks, not shredded)and ham already cubed. (It comes vacuum packed in a zip bag) I think next time I might use frozen O'Brian potatoes and that way I won't have to mess with chopping the onions and peppers. I just threw the frozen potatoes in the butter with the ham, onions, and pepper and cooked them until they were thawed and warm. I cooked the carrots and celery in the microwave just a few minutes until they started getting tender. Talk about fast and easy! It was delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was awsome I used half cup whipping cream and half cup milk but ended up using more milk because it was too thick, used sharp cheddar cheese. My 8 & 10 year old cleaned their plates. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Every member of my family likes this. It is easy and pretty quickly prepared. I divert from the original by using dried minced onion but otherwise I keep everything the same and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I tried this tonight, probably the BEST casserole I've ever made. We were feeding 3, and 2 cups of cut potatoes didn't seem like enough so I used about 4 cups. I also added about 1/4 cup more milk. It didn't look as creamy as I wanted, so I used a can of cream of chicken. I also didn't have any fresh carrots so I used part of a bag of frozen mixed veggies. And then on top I sprinkled cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I thought this was good but my husband and son thought it was great and want it again. I ended up using more milk (about another cup or more) because I wanted the sauce thinner to cover the vegetables. It seemed to me that with 1 cup it just clumped. I guess it depends on how much you cook the rue. That was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed it very much. I used a whole small onion and half a large red bell pepper, because I thought it would need more flavor. My white sauce looked like it would be too thick, so I also added additional milk. I used a bit more cheese than called for too, because I love cheese. I do believe the portion size should be revised, as the two of use ate half the casserole. We're looking forward to leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States