Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
My fussy men couldn't get enough of this. I changed it up a bit, added flour to can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 and a half cups milk. I went heavy on the cheddar too. Also topped it with stove top. Great way to get rid of stuff in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Crain
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Definitely comfort food. Good for 4-5 adults with moderate appetites. I substituted Parmesan cheese, added herbs and I was happy with the results. Because of the butter and cheese I wouldn't often make this dish, but next time I will add kale or broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Crain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made this casserole the other day and my husband loved it. I followed the recipe fairly closely accept I cooked the ham, onion and green pepper in olive oil instead of butter. I also added mushrooms which I needed to use up to that mixture. Because of lack of time instead of making my own cheese sauce I used a can of mushroom soup and 1/2 cup of milk. I heated that on the stove to melt the cheese. For a topping I used Panko crumbs which gave the casserole a nice crunchy topping. It was scrumptious and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Boring. The sauce was just plain bland and thick. We could barely taste the cheese, and I used sharp cheddar. Next time I would cut the flour in half, and add more cheese. Additionally, this recipe would in no way feed eight people (adults) unless you had a lot of sides to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was great in the slow cooker as well. I skipped the boiling and sauteeing steps and put all of the raw veggies and ham in the slow cooker, then made the cheese sauce and mixed it in with the meat and veggies. Cooked on High for 3 hours. The cheese sauce initially looked too thick- but it thins out a lot while cooking so by the end it was a perfect consistency for casserole. When it was done I added the breadcrumbs and stuck the crock under the broiler for a few min. The green pepper adds that extra something that most ham and potato casseroles are lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I've tried this recipe twice and both times I custom make it to what we all prefer and I make it based on how much ham is left over. I don't use butter often so for the onion and ham I heated with coconut oil. I also used whole wheat flour and that worked just fine for the sauce! My family has loved this recipe twice , we literally eat ham once or twice a year, so for the day after, this is perfect! Next time I may try with a different vegetable, maybe yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe was extremely good. I had sharp cheddar on hand so that's what I used, and also used skim milk. Followed rest of recipe exactly. I agree that it only serves 6, at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was really good. I never thought to use a cheese sauce with potatoes, but this will definitely be in my recipe box. I did make a few changes (so rated 4 star): I sautéed all the veggies (other than the potatoes) in a bit of butter and oil. I also added 2 tablespoons stone-ground mustard to the cheese sauce, to give it a bit of an extra zip. I used panko, and worked in about 2 T of butter into them before spreading on top, giving them an extra crunch. Otherwise I followed the directions as printed, and it turned out very well. I can see adding broccoli to it, and/or cauliflower. Maybe some peas. But really good, and I agree, the number of servings seems off. My husband and I just ate half of it for dinner, and probably will eat the other half tomorrow...and we're not really big eaters. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
The whole family loved it!! We had to make more, just so everyone could have seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I am not a casserole person but this was really yummy. I added about two tbsp of sherry to give it a subtle sweetness and it was wonderful. I also used seasoned panko instead of breadcrumbs and it complemented the dish very nicely. Perfect for the cold snowy weather we are experiencing in CT. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States