Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Just tried this recipe three times with left over flavor-packed buttermilk garlic mashed potatoes from last night's dinner. The first time I substituted finely chopped onion for the scallions and learned that the potato mixture definitely needs additional panko. The second time I removed the dried dill, because I thought it clashed and suggested there would be a seafood ingredient in the mix (think crab cake.) Third time was the charm; I did a quick pan-fry with the ham and onions before adding to the dill-free potato mixture. The flavor of the onion and ham were fantastic and added much needed golden color to the insides of the potato cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great idea. I totally tweaked this recipe for my own liking. I didn't have L/O mashed potatoes so I baked and used tater tots (chopped up) in replacement for that. I also used my own spice profile and shaped ham mix into golf ball size. Then I dipped those in egg/milk mix and rolled in panko type bread crumbs. I then froze them on a baking sheet & piled into a zip bag. I also made a pineapple sweet/sour type glaze and tossed the previously frozen ~ then deep fried ham balls in that. Awesome and thanks for the base idea Avon. Get creative I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So happy I did this recipe! I am not a big fan of ham or Dijon mustard but hubby is and I had a small amount of ham leftover and was looking for something different. These are absolutely fantastic! I used my slap chopper to get the ham the right consistency and added the whole bunch of green onions (about 6). The panko breadcrumbs give these a nice crunch. Held together perfectly and fried up quickly. I will be definitely do these again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a wonderful way to repurpose left over mashed potatoes! Very easy to make and great flavor! I did the same as Sarah Joe and ran the ham and green onion through the food processor. I also omitted the egg (personal preference) and did not have any issues with the mixture being too crumbly. Great recipe, Avon!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very happy to have come across this recipe! I made a half batch to try it, and they came out excellent! I still used the 1 egg, and the mixture was a little loose, so just added more crumbs to compensate. The creaminess of the mashed potato mixture and the crunch of the outside Panko crumbs was a match made in heaven! If you want a more pronounced onion flavor, I can see using regular onions. Nice for a quick lunch, as I had it, or for breakfast, as others have mentioned. What a great way to use leftovers from Easter dinner, too! Thanks Avon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Perfect use of leftovers. We enjoyed these so much for lunch today and they were super easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It worked well some of my pickier family members weren't so fond of it but one of them liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this tonight with leftwver ham (frozen in freezer) from Thanksgiving, and newly-made mashed potatoes. Used everything but the dill, and tasted fantastic. Only 1 out of 8 cakes were leftover for tomorrow's lunch. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a VERY good recipe! Great way to use the leftover ham and mashed potatoes from Christmas. Didn't have green onions, so used a finely chopped yellow onion that I didn't even cook first! Big hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States