Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was good tasting, I used the ham and some mini turkey pepperoni's (really good). I doubled the ingredients (except the meat) because I had more mashed potatoes. I used parsley in place of the dill and italian seasoned panko for the outside. The dijon really gives these a nice flavor! My only complaint is that they really soak up the vegetable oil so I had to use too much and they wanted to come apart easily while frying. They need another binder I think, as I did use extra bread crumbs. I ended up only frying about 6 of them because I ran out of oil. So I plopped the rest of the mix into a small casserole (over a layer of panko), topped it with cheddar cheese and more panko, and i'm gonna bake it till I think it's done at 400. Ty for a yummy way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Just tried this recipe three times with left over flavor-packed buttermilk garlic mashed potatoes from last night's dinner. The first time I substituted finely chopped onion for the scallions and learned that the potato mixture definitely needs additional panko. The second time I removed the dried dill, because I thought it clashed and suggested there would be a seafood ingredient in the mix (think crab cake.) Third time was the charm; I did a quick pan-fry with the ham and onions before adding to the dill-free potato mixture. The flavor of the onion and ham were fantastic and added much needed golden color to the insides of the potato cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great idea. I totally tweaked this recipe for my own liking. I didn't have L/O mashed potatoes so I baked and used tater tots (chopped up) in replacement for that. I also used my own spice profile and shaped ham mix into golf ball size. Then I dipped those in egg/milk mix and rolled in panko type bread crumbs. I then froze them on a baking sheet & piled into a zip bag. I also made a pineapple sweet/sour type glaze and tossed the previously frozen ~ then deep fried ham balls in that. Awesome and thanks for the base idea Avon. Get creative I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So happy I did this recipe! I am not a big fan of ham or Dijon mustard but hubby is and I had a small amount of ham leftover and was looking for something different. These are absolutely fantastic! I used my slap chopper to get the ham the right consistency and added the whole bunch of green onions (about 6). The panko breadcrumbs give these a nice crunch. Held together perfectly and fried up quickly. I will be definitely do these again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a wonderful way to repurpose left over mashed potatoes! Very easy to make and great flavor! I did the same as Sarah Joe and ran the ham and green onion through the food processor. I also omitted the egg (personal preference) and did not have any issues with the mixture being too crumbly. Great recipe, Avon!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very happy to have come across this recipe! I made a half batch to try it, and they came out excellent! I still used the 1 egg, and the mixture was a little loose, so just added more crumbs to compensate. The creaminess of the mashed potato mixture and the crunch of the outside Panko crumbs was a match made in heaven! If you want a more pronounced onion flavor, I can see using regular onions. Nice for a quick lunch, as I had it, or for breakfast, as others have mentioned. What a great way to use leftovers from Easter dinner, too! Thanks Avon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Perfect use of leftovers. We enjoyed these so much for lunch today and they were super easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It worked well some of my pickier family members weren't so fond of it but one of them liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this tonight with leftwver ham (frozen in freezer) from Thanksgiving, and newly-made mashed potatoes. Used everything but the dill, and tasted fantastic. Only 1 out of 8 cakes were leftover for tomorrow's lunch. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States