Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Serve with melted cheddar cheese over to make a little more moist. I had mine with sriracha sauce, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is the best recipe for leftover ham I have ever tasted. My family said we should skip the main ham meal next time and go straight to this recipe. I am not a great cook and yet had no trouble achieving a good result with this recipe. I agree with another reviewer who said that she could not believe the flavor that came out of these few simple ingredients. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Loved these cakes. They did fall apart on me so I will probably add another egg and maybe a few more bread crumbs the next time. But the flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My favorite aspect of these was the crunch of the panko. I ran the ham through my food processor, which I would recommend, though I still needed an extra egg to hold the cakes together. The Dijon came through nicely though the predominant flavor was the potato and these seemed like very good hash browns. I made these for a dinner main dish and it made 2 servings. Next time I'll make these for breakfast and add more ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Didn't have any green onions or dill, but still turned out fantastic, many thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
What a WONDERFUL way to use up leftover ham and mashed potatoes. I’ll admit to not having leftover potatoes, so I had to make some up and cool them for this recipe. I made a batch and a half so that I would have leftovers. Nope, no leftovers, my family LOVED them and ate them all in one sitting. I made as written, but did coconut oil to fry them in. I was surprised that they take quite a bit of oil. I served this with ‘Mustard Mayonnaise Sauce’ another AR recipe that SHORECOOK suggested. It was the perfect topping for these cake-ettes. Thanks Avon for sharing your recipe! I will be making this again. This would also be great as a breakfast item served with over-easy eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Excellent recipe. I did use regular chopped onions instead of green onions. While eating them we discussed many uses and varieties that could be done with this recipe. They would be good as part of a breakfast menu, or layered into a casserole dish and topped with panko and then baked for a healthier and faster version, or just simply mashed potatoes without the panko. I will make again in some fashion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
KEEPER ALERT! These are super yummy! I followed the recipe exactly, measuring everything so I wouldn't fail. I used my Pampered Chef food chopper to finely chop the ham. I put the patties together in the morning, then refrigerated them until dinner time. It made cooking dinner so easy. I only had to fry them about 3 minutes on each side and they were done. I served "Mustard Mayonnaise Sauce" from this site to accompany them along with a side of asparagus. This is a real winner and will be served many times over at our house. I just love having something new to make out of left-over ham. The crunch is my favorite part, be sure to use "panko" crumbs. Thank you Avon for sharing this SUPER YUMMY recipe---you rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Tried this recipe to use up all the mashed potatoes leftover from Thanksgiving. Made without supstitutions. YUMMMY!!! The dijon and green onions play a key role in the flavors. Don't skip them they arent overpowering, just adds the depth that is needed. To get the small dice of ham I used my Pampered Chef food chopper. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTMOMOF9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
DH loved these. Made 7 nice size patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States