Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very filling. The directions weren't very clear as I used a large cookie sheet & had left over dough. (didn't know if I should double up the dough or not) Also the braiding part was confusing, but figured it out later. (I was used to having long stripes when braiding not short ones) I accidently bought smoked swiss with cheddar cheese & it was excellent, but next time I'd use only 1/2 what it calls for since the smoke cheddar taste is strong. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
i'm giving it this many stars ONLY because of the alterations i made. like other said, i cooked the onions and brocolli a bit before putting it in the cresent roll dough. instead of 2 tablespoons of mustard i put 1 tablespoon and 1/2 cup sour cream. the filling turned out moist and creamy and delicious! and i brushed a little butter on the top of the cresent dough(which was reduced fat) before putting it in the oven. i LOVED how it turned out and would definitely make it my way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurlingturtles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used less ham and more broccoli. I used purple onion and cheddar cheese. I also used reduced-fat crescent rolls. I shaped it into a ring. It was very good. I liked it more than a chicken one I had that included mayo in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This recipe is EXCELLENT! My family really enjoyed it. A girl friend of mine makes this for parties as an appetizer, everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Great recipe for leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
We liked this a lot, I have made it with broccoli and also with frozen asparagus. Its very helpful to precook the veges in microwave before putting into the braid. I made these as an appetizer for a party, everyone raved, no leftovers. Many copies of the recipe were requested. Use your imagination for other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Good, easy, and impressive-looking. Only downside is onions were not cooked all the way through. Next time I'll saute them first as other reviewers have suggested. Here's my changes: I don't like mustard, so I used 2 tbsp Miracle Whip and 4 tbsp cottage cheese. It stuck together nicely without being too runny. Also substituted cheddar cheese since I didn't have swiss on hand. For herbs, I used 6 big leaves of fresh cilantro and a little chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was excellant. I made some changes based on the remarks above. I added an extra half cup broccoli. I also used 3/4 a tbsp of yellow mustard and 1/4 tbsp of dijon mustard and 4 oz of sour cream. I sauteed the onions in butter until soft and the broccoli I steamed for about three mins. I prepared the filling early in the day and put in the refrigerator until dinner time. I then took the filling and put into waxpaper rolled to a tight roll the size of the filling. Then I did an eggwash on the pastry and it turned out great. I will definately do this again and will also try with different veggies and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wonderful after adjusting to my taste. Try using mushrooms, swiss and ham as filling. Saute fresh mushrooms with onion in butter prior. I also brushed top with butter (or eggwash) and sprinkled poppy seeds on top mid way through baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
EXCELLENT AND VERY EASY. THIS WAS A BIG HIT AT MY LAST 2 TAILGATES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States