Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
EXCELLENT AND VERY EASY. THIS WAS A BIG HIT AT MY LAST 2 TAILGATES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wonderful after adjusting to my taste. Try using mushrooms, swiss and ham as filling. Saute fresh mushrooms with onion in butter prior. I also brushed top with butter (or eggwash) and sprinkled poppy seeds on top mid way through baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was good, but not fantastic. I would make it again though.I sauted the onions, ham & broccoli a bit before baking. As other reviews suggested, I sprinkled seasoning salt over dough before baking &that added great flavor. Presentation is beautiful (& impressinve!) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
A very easy and different way to prepare ham leftovers! I did tweek this recipe a bit based on user reviews. I used cheddar (thats what I had on hand) and because some users felt that it was a bit dry I tossed a half a can of cream of chicken soup in the mix for a nice creamy consistancy. I also found that my dough didn't cook all the way through so I would suggest a longer cooking time. Bake on a silicone or silipat liner to prevent the bottom being burned with the longer cook time. Other than that it way great. We all really liked it, it actually tasted like a homemade Hot Pocket!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was good but after reading previous reviews..made many alterations. I opted to use the pizza crust and only one, used about a cup and a half of ham and just eyed the brocoli,cheese, and mayo.Heated the mixture in microwave for about 3-5 min. stirring. Next time I would make even less filling (serving two people) and possibly try using velveeta the shredded cheese is much too greasy and made for soggy left-overs..Also I sprinkled the crust with Mrs.Dash seasoning mix after cutting strips which really boosted the flavor..Other than that very yummy..Good with chicken too!! And it really does look beautiful when golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Good recipe that used up the rest of our leftover Easter ham. But I wouldn't rush to make it again soon. As other reveiwers mentioned, maybe it was the mustard that overpowered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was excellant. I made some changes based on the remarks above. I added an extra half cup broccoli. I also used 3/4 a tbsp of yellow mustard and 1/4 tbsp of dijon mustard and 4 oz of sour cream. I sauteed the onions in butter until soft and the broccoli I steamed for about three mins. I prepared the filling early in the day and put in the refrigerator until dinner time. I then took the filling and put into waxpaper rolled to a tight roll the size of the filling. Then I did an eggwash on the pastry and it turned out great. I will definately do this again and will also try with different veggies and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
My kids really liked this, as is (in fact, this morning they asked if they could have it again). I used a pizza dough rather than the cresent roll mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
i'm giving it this many stars ONLY because of the alterations i made. like other said, i cooked the onions and brocolli a bit before putting it in the cresent roll dough. instead of 2 tablespoons of mustard i put 1 tablespoon and 1/2 cup sour cream. the filling turned out moist and creamy and delicious! and i brushed a little butter on the top of the cresent dough(which was reduced fat) before putting it in the oven. i LOVED how it turned out and would definitely make it my way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurlingturtles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I agree w/ the others- saute onions first, cut back on the mustard a bit,( i used spicy brown) and the dough was a PAIN to work with, but after you get it together - it tasted really good, hot or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States