Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by FEISTY9
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Looked beautiful! However, I agree with some of the previous reviews, the amount of Dijon was a little overpowering (and I'm a mustard lover). Next time I will reduce and perhaps add a touch of mayo. Also my husband and son agreed that the onions were all wrong. Either they need to be omitted completely or the amount should be reduced and sauteed in butter before adding to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I cut back on the mustard as others suggested and added a bit of mayo. Still not anything I would ever make again. Taste was too pungent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was an eye-catching, appetite-inspiring dish ... until I tasted it. The more I ate, the worse it got. Then, I realized what was wrong: the mustard. Though I usually like a little mustard with ham, in this recipe it was over-powering and gave the ham/broccoli/bread a sharp sour taste. I'll make something similar, based on this recipe, because I think that giving it a chance without the mustard (maybe with a little sour cream ?)will result in a tasty, attractive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Good, easy, and impressive-looking. Only downside is onions were not cooked all the way through. Next time I'll saute them first as other reviewers have suggested. Here's my changes: I don't like mustard, so I used 2 tbsp Miracle Whip and 4 tbsp cottage cheese. It stuck together nicely without being too runny. Also substituted cheddar cheese since I didn't have swiss on hand. For herbs, I used 6 big leaves of fresh cilantro and a little chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Great, but hard to get together. It may be easier to set the mixture in fridge for 30 minutes and then roll in wax paper to give it a more firm shape before placing it on dough for braiding. Also, the mustard was a bit strong - I would use less next time - 1 TB Dijon Mustard, 1 TB Mayo - to keep the consistency without being so pungent. It was hard to taste the other flavors over the mustard. I will definitley make again - just tweaked a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Great..and filling...was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very filling. The directions weren't very clear as I used a large cookie sheet & had left over dough. (didn't know if I should double up the dough or not) Also the braiding part was confusing, but figured it out later. (I was used to having long stripes when braiding not short ones) I accidently bought smoked swiss with cheddar cheese & it was excellent, but next time I'd use only 1/2 what it calls for since the smoke cheddar taste is strong. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
We liked this a lot, I have made it with broccoli and also with frozen asparagus. Its very helpful to precook the veges in microwave before putting into the braid. I made these as an appetizer for a party, everyone raved, no leftovers. Many copies of the recipe were requested. Use your imagination for other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I've had better ham braids. The onion should be pre-cooked a little, because the oven time just isn't enough to cook them. It was also a bit dry with only the dijon mustard as a sauce. Looked more beautiful than it tasted. I'll keep searching for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Great recipe for leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States