Ham Bone and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Very good soup! I made the exact recipe and it was fabulous! Even my kids liked it and they are not big fans of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Thank you for submitting a delicious and fabulous base recipe. I am glad to have found it since we had a large ham bone with a lot of meat left on it that I had simmered the heck out of and then had to figure out how to use. Vegetable soup is supposed to be forgiving and to use up what one has in the house, and this particular recipe is true to that principle. I had no bacon and no celery. I think all soup is best with celery, so would ordinarily use it (but vegetable soup is supposed to prevent one from needing to go to the store so I didn't). Instead of peeling and chopping carrots and potatoes, which I ordinarily would do, I used 2 bags of frozen soup vegetables. Then omitted the frozen corn because the vegetables included corn as well as the carrots and potatoes. I don't use bouillon (too much sodium) and somehow we had three open low sodium organic chicken broth boxes in the fridge to use up, so in they went. Needed to use half a head of cabbage, so I sauteed it with the onion and garlic til done. Wanted to give it a minestrone-effect so added the remnants of a box of whole wheat spaghetti and a drained can of organic garbanzo beans. Then seasoned with a bit of dried oregano and basil. I apologize for changing the recipe and then rating my own, but again the whole point of vegetable soup is to improvise and use the leftovers. We enjoyed this more than I could ever tell. For speed, just cooked on the stove top. Again, thanks for a fabulous base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Excellent Soup and even better the next day! I added a can of navy beans, 1/2 cup of barley, 1/2 tsp of thyme, coriander, chilli pepper, paprika and marjoram and a bay leaf. Used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of the tomatoe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Bache

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Really good soup! I made some adjustments -- used just 6 cups of chicken broth (no water, no bouillon) and some Better than Bouillon base to give it some flavor. I also added some more garlic cloves,some sherry, garlic power, onion powder, herbamare (organic sea salt infused with herbs) and some extra carrots and one less potato. Topped it with a little bit of grated gruyere. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Liked the recipe a lot. I used sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes because that's all I had. Also added a can of cream of celery soup to make it a little creamier. And instead of just using bacon fat I added five slices of bacon and browned my vegetables along with the bacon before adding it to the soup. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Very good soup. Love a recipe that allows you to make so many revisions with what you have on hand. Added chopped kale & small pasta noodles. Stewed tomatoes versus chopped tomatoes added more flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty good! I had a ham bone and needed to use it, so I did this recipe with what I had on hand. I cooked it on the stove on high for 2 hours and it came out great. My only alterations were to use 6 medium potatos and I mashed some of them to give a creamier texture to the soup, just a preference. I did not have corn so I omitted that. Pretty good. I only gave it 4 stars because it was saltier than I would have liked, which I did notice the ham itself was saltier than others I have purchased so that could be at fault, but the next time I make this I will use less bouillon. I will will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was a great basic soup recipe. I didn't have time for the crock pot though so i just cooked it for 1-1/2 hours on the stove top. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I just made this wonderful soup and it is so flavorful. I didn't use bacon grease but everything else is beautiful. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States