Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was soooo good. My girlfriend made fun of me for saving the bone... She won't do that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is a great starter base. My changes wer're I used 2 cans of organic fire roasted tomatos, no potatoes, no green bell pepper, 4 cups of chicken stock and 4 cups of water, added celery. Left it on high for most of the day. 1 1/2 before we ate I added carrots and 3/4 cup of barley. OMG was it delicious! Having left overs tonight. Thank you so much for the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Locke Cooking
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great soup...if you like salty, which I do! Also, very easy to make and a great use of a ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I started with some Onions and Heirloom Tomatoes saute in olive oil with Sazon Goya, (half a packet), added a 7 bean mix (soaked for 2 days), celery, garlic, potatoes, lil red peppers, carrots, cilantro and A bone-in ham ( I cut yummy sized chunks off) Mmmm My spanish version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was easy and tasted great. Only used 4 bouillon cubes and exchanged green for red peppers, and added some Cajun spice (i like things with kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was ok. I added carrots, garlic powder, and bay leaf. Drained and rinsed the beans. ETA Just had leftovers and like many crock recipes, it was much better the second time around! Also I cooked on low 7 hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Made this as is and very easy! Delicious but a little too salty. Would make again but probably use low sodium chicken broth instead of the bouillon. Was awesome to come home and smell this cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ware De Antonio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was soup was OK. I followed the recipe and my instincts told me to omit the green pepper, that it would cook too long and be bitter. So I added it with about an hour left but I should have left it out altogether. It was bitter. Our family of five all agreed: this soup was average and kinda boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I left out the green pepper and added fresh green beans, and used red potatoes . It was delicious. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Just used my Easter ham bone to make this and it is wonderful! I followed the directions and added 1/2cup of barley. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States