Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
AMAZING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
As is, the recipe was a 4 star - yummy and easy to fix. To turn it into a 5 star for my family's tastes, I deleted the green pepper and used canned tomato's that included them. Added some garlic, a few red pepper flakes, salt free seasoning, and some cubed carrots. used canned broth rather than cubes, and as I had cooked my own ham, could stir in 1/2 cup or so of the juices. Bought Applewood Smoked Half Ham at Costco - delish and not too salty. Thanks for posting this - family enjoyed it and will make it often this winter. I encourage new cooks to use this as a base, and add spices or vegetables that your family will enjoy. Making recipes your own is what makes a great cook, and is half the fun of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is by far one of the best ways to use up that leftover ham! It's very easy to do and flavorful. I have made it several times and my family of four really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Market, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I was very skeptical about this recipe, sounded too simple to waste my nice meaty ham bone on. But it was delicious! I omitted the green pepper and added carrots and celery. I used a can of cannellini beans instead. The leftovers have been great for lunch! I'll definitely made this again when I have my next ham bone to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is soooo GOOD! Definitely hits the "soup" spot! I din't use the chicken cubes. I added celery and garlic both fresh. And I seasoned it with "salad supreme" seasoning, found at publix. Absolutely delicious! And I'm not sure if this made a difference, but I used the ham bone from a ham covered in spicy honey glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliMiranda89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made the soup according to the recipe except that I used grandulated bouillon instead of cubes, 1 teaspoon = 1 cube. It was so salty we couldn't eat it. I removed about 3 cups of broth from the soup and replaced them with 3 cups of water and it was edible but still a bit salty. If I made this again, I would use just half of the bouillon, then taste, and then add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't have a ham bone, but I have tons of leftover ham. So, I threw in a huge chunk (had to be at least 1 lb). I used black beans because I like them better and was out of kidney beans anyway. My 7yo said this soup is amazing...keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
DELICIOUS! Perfect meal when the ham is almost gone. My toddler who rarely eats dinner was asking for fourths, and my husband was getting concerned there wouldn't be enough for leftovers! I didn't do bell peppers (I don't like them) and instead added carrots and celery. I used preseasoned tomatoes (it had parsley, oregano and a few other spices already in it, I believe it was the 'O' Organics brand from Safeway). It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
It was good. Good flavor and a good way to use up the bone. Nothing to get too excited about, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The ham bone put 2 large bones and several smaller bones in the soup, along with gristle and fat. It was tedious getting this all out and I was afraid someone would discover a missed piece of bone/gristle/fat. The taste was good, however. My ham was a spiral cut, high end ham. I must of used a different kind of ham than everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States