Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is a great starter base. My changes wer're I used 2 cans of organic fire roasted tomatos, no potatoes, no green bell pepper, 4 cups of chicken stock and 4 cups of water, added celery. Left it on high for most of the day. 1 1/2 before we ate I added carrots and 3/4 cup of barley. OMG was it delicious! Having left overs tonight. Thank you so much for the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Locke Cooking
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great soup...if you like salty, which I do! Also, very easy to make and a great use of a ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I started with some Onions and Heirloom Tomatoes saute in olive oil with Sazon Goya, (half a packet), added a 7 bean mix (soaked for 2 days), celery, garlic, potatoes, lil red peppers, carrots, cilantro and A bone-in ham ( I cut yummy sized chunks off) Mmmm My spanish version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was easy and tasted great. Only used 4 bouillon cubes and exchanged green for red peppers, and added some Cajun spice (i like things with kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was ok. I added carrots, garlic powder, and bay leaf. Drained and rinsed the beans. ETA Just had leftovers and like many crock recipes, it was much better the second time around! Also I cooked on low 7 hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Made this as is and very easy! Delicious but a little too salty. Would make again but probably use low sodium chicken broth instead of the bouillon. Was awesome to come home and smell this cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceankath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was soup was OK. I followed the recipe and my instincts told me to omit the green pepper, that it would cook too long and be bitter. So I added it with about an hour left but I should have left it out altogether. It was bitter. Our family of five all agreed: this soup was average and kinda boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I left out the green pepper and added fresh green beans, and used red potatoes . It was delicious. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Just used my Easter ham bone to make this and it is wonderful! I followed the directions and added 1/2cup of barley. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Better than I expected, but not my favorite soup ever. Will likely make again when I have another ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States