Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
SO YUMMY! I was afraid that the four cups of water wouldn't be enough, but with the liquid from the beans and tomatoes, it was fine. I only used about half the tomatoes and no peppers, but added about two cups of diced ham, bay leaf, and garlic powder. Perfect way to use up a ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schneider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I made this soup in my slow cooker, and after 6 hours the potatoes and other vegetables were still crunchy. I took the soup out of the cooker and put it in a soup pot on the stove and simmered it on medium high to soften. After ten minutes soup was finally ready to eat. The soup was very good but next time, it will be done on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutestfox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Espanola, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great Basic Recipe. You can add anything to this and it turns out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My husband had made up his mind to not like this dish and it didn't look all that appetizing to me either but I had a lot of ham left over from Christmas so I had to do SOMETHING with it. The only thing I added was some brown rice because I added too much liquid. This soup was superb! I put it in individual containers to freeze because I knew it wouldnt all get eaten but those containers never made it to the freezer because my husband kept chowing down on the soup. This recipe is now a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this soup 5 months ago and for Easter I made an extra ham just for the bone to make this again. I did change it a bit. Used stewed tomatoes, added a can of chipotle pinto beans and then when it was all done I added diced cabbage into it. The cabbage made a big difference. This time I am going to add in baby carrots. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Thank you TootSweet13 for an awesome recipe! With the exception of adding a bayleaf and using low-sodium/no MSG chicken broth I followed the recipe as written. I was nervous since my hambone was from a HoneyBaked Ham (thought maybe any remaining glaze would interfer) but no need to worry. This was the BEST ham soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
AMAZING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
As is, the recipe was a 4 star - yummy and easy to fix. To turn it into a 5 star for my family's tastes, I deleted the green pepper and used canned tomato's that included them. Added some garlic, a few red pepper flakes, salt free seasoning, and some cubed carrots. used canned broth rather than cubes, and as I had cooked my own ham, could stir in 1/2 cup or so of the juices. Bought Applewood Smoked Half Ham at Costco - delish and not too salty. Thanks for posting this - family enjoyed it and will make it often this winter. I encourage new cooks to use this as a base, and add spices or vegetables that your family will enjoy. Making recipes your own is what makes a great cook, and is half the fun of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is by far one of the best ways to use up that leftover ham! It's very easy to do and flavorful. I have made it several times and my family of four really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Market, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I was very skeptical about this recipe, sounded too simple to waste my nice meaty ham bone on. But it was delicious! I omitted the green pepper and added carrots and celery. I used a can of cannellini beans instead. The leftovers have been great for lunch! I'll definitely made this again when I have my next ham bone to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States