Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
As everyone else does...I improvised. I call this the "left over soup". I used my ham bone, onion, carrot, celery, salt, pepper, 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one Italian style) kidney beans, peas...you can use what ever you have! Remember to not season your vegetables during the week...only on your plate. Then at the end of the week, use them up for soup! My cost on this 10 cup meal: $4.00 and a left over ham bone.....feeds 6 easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My dear husband loves soups, chowders and stews! He absolutely loves them and is quite the connoisseur! I made this soup today for the very first time (exactly as shown) and he could hardly stop raving and singing its praises long enough to eat it! :) Can't remember the last time I've had that many compliments on a meal!!! Three thumbs up and 5 big stars! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanborn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I often buy a ham just so I can make this soup later (after eating all that yummy ham first, of course)! This is my go-to recipe, though I just use it as a base and adjust depending on what veggies I have and what sounds good at the moment. I've never made a bad pot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I didn't like the ham/chicken mix. Just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was the best ham soup I ever made! I will agree with many and reduce the bullion in half as it was a bit too salty. I used 2 tablespoons of Better Than Bullion and would use one next time. I also added bay leaves and a splash of cooking sherry at the end along with a couple shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce. Also added carrots and had an onion roll to dunk in and mop up the good juice. If you want a serving quick do what I did...ladled a few cups of it into a sauce pan and simmered for an hour. This was my supper while the rest slow cooked the rest of the evening. Made a wonderful lunch! I want to make this a yearly tradition with the Christmas hambone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Awesome and easy recipe. Also tweaked mine with some carrot/celery and substitued a can of pinto beans for the kidney beans (scraping the bottom of the cupboard) - tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
No longer a skeptic this soup is great in spite of my worries of possible ingredient compatibilities.I cooked it for 8 1/2hours[the big ham bone was frozen]and made it as stated with the exception of a little cayenne pepper to taste and 2 bay leaves. I will not be throwing out the ham bone any longer---thanks for a great tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made ham soup and it was SO good! Sounded like it might be bland, but it wasn't. It did not need any seasoning at all! I omitted the green pepper because I didn't have one, and added some sliced carrots. Used no-salt bouillon which worked perfectly since ham is salty already. Hubby really enjoyed it too and he's not a big ham fan. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made one significant change. Left out the beans and potatoes and put in 2 cups of cubed butternut squash. Cooked for 15 hours and is had the most major balance of sweet and savory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Followed everyone's advice. It was surprisingly Good. The longer I cooked it in the crockpot the better it taste. Added one small cup of Knorr's concentrated chicken stock to boost the flavor. Also added celery. carrots and garlic per the other reviews. To thicken the soup I added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch dissolved in warm water. It's a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States