Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I didn't like the ham/chicken mix. Just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was the best ham soup I ever made! I will agree with many and reduce the bullion in half as it was a bit too salty. I used 2 tablespoons of Better Than Bullion and would use one next time. I also added bay leaves and a splash of cooking sherry at the end along with a couple shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce. Also added carrots and had an onion roll to dunk in and mop up the good juice. If you want a serving quick do what I did...ladled a few cups of it into a sauce pan and simmered for an hour. This was my supper while the rest slow cooked the rest of the evening. Made a wonderful lunch! I want to make this a yearly tradition with the Christmas hambone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Awesome and easy recipe. Also tweaked mine with some carrot/celery and substitued a can of pinto beans for the kidney beans (scraping the bottom of the cupboard) - tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
No longer a skeptic this soup is great in spite of my worries of possible ingredient compatibilities.I cooked it for 8 1/2hours[the big ham bone was frozen]and made it as stated with the exception of a little cayenne pepper to taste and 2 bay leaves. I will not be throwing out the ham bone any longer---thanks for a great tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made ham soup and it was SO good! Sounded like it might be bland, but it wasn't. It did not need any seasoning at all! I omitted the green pepper because I didn't have one, and added some sliced carrots. Used no-salt bouillon which worked perfectly since ham is salty already. Hubby really enjoyed it too and he's not a big ham fan. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made one significant change. Left out the beans and potatoes and put in 2 cups of cubed butternut squash. Cooked for 15 hours and is had the most major balance of sweet and savory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Followed everyone's advice. It was surprisingly Good. The longer I cooked it in the crockpot the better it taste. Added one small cup of Knorr's concentrated chicken stock to boost the flavor. Also added celery. carrots and garlic per the other reviews. To thicken the soup I added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch dissolved in warm water. It's a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
OMG -- this soup is great! My friends say it is the best also. I didn't have tomatoes, so I used mild bottles salsa, and used a honey baked ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My family enjoyed this soup! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Saved the stock from cooking the ham... sweet glaze and all... put it in the fridge overnight skimmed the fat off the top and then froze in a baggy. Threw the left over hambone with meat still attached in a separate baggie and when I was ready to make this recipe I threw it all in the crockpot to thaw and cook. Then threw in all the ingredients with less water and bouillon to make up for adding the stock... let everything cook for suggested time then took out the hambone with the meat still on it then remove meat, cut up and put it back in the pot. I especially loved the cinnamon from the ham glaze. Great for a cold day. Hubby and children loved it. Left overs were awesome days later. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States