Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
My wife and I love this rich soup. We always avoid non-fresh ingredients, so we use fresh tomatoes and pre-soaked dry kidney beans in place of the cans. Just as easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
My go to recipe for the hambone after making a ham. Really helps stretch one ham into multiple meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I have made this twice now. We love it! I make traditionally in soup pot cooking down the bone until ham is falling off. Addin additional ingrediants as it gets ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Wow! I can't believe it was that easy! I used the left over ham bone and scraps from Easter for this soup. I added a little cayenne pepper for some heat and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
my husband and myself loved this! I did not include the peppers and I used chili beans instead of kidney (personal preference). Other than that it was as stated. it was such a big hit that my husband begged me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Excellent soup! So glad I found this recipe because I am the only one in the house who will eat pea soup so it's nice to have another use for the ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenie605

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made this for the 1st time and it came out pretty good. I read ALOT of the reviews so was prepared. 1st, it was not at all too salty, having used a spiral ham bone from Costco's. Had TOO much meat on it actually, so had to remove some from the crock pot. 2nd, had to add at least another 4 cups of water w/bouillon because there just wasn't enough liquid. 3rd, I started off on hi for an hour, then lowered it to low, and let it cook until we were ready to eat it. Aside from that, this was a wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mklavery
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Really great soup but too salty (and I love salt!). Will make again and will use only two of the six boulion and I'm site it will still have a great roust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Good recipe. I agree with other reviewers when it comes to adding different veggies. I added celery, and a partial can of corn that needed to be used up. I recommend removing the bone after cooking, and allowing the soup to cool so that you can skim off some of the fat. My ham bone must have been pretty fatty, because I was able to remove 1/2 cup of fat after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGLVR

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States