Ham, Basil, and Feta Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These are delicious scrambled eggs. I made the recipe as directed, but cut it in half for only one serving. I added a few chopped chives and omitted any salt. The ham and feta are salty enough. I also added the feta torward the end of the cooking, so it wouldn't get lost. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I cut back on the basil and it was still too much and we normally enjoy basil. I doubt I will make this recipe again but if I did I would use 1 tsp dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
LOVED THIS! I will never be able to eat boring scramblers again. The only change I made was a 1 teaspoon i/o tablespoon of the basil. Simple, amazing...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learnin2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Excellent eggs! These were very moist and full of flavor. No salt needed to give these some taste. I loved this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made these the other day and they were simple and delicious. I cut back to I think a teaspoon of basil like others and it was just the right amount for me. I'm definitely making these every time I have leftover feta. =D Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshFox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
modified
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is an absolutely great twist on conventional scrambled eggs. Vibrant, filling, and popping with flavor. Like many other reviewers have mentioned, cutting back from 1 tablespoon of dry basil to 1 teaspoon helps to not overpower the dish with the basil flavor. I also added the feta cheese in later when the egg was on the pan cooking as to not have it lost amidst the egg when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dennis.chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I loved these eggs. I used canadian bacon inplace of the ham. Never want plain scrambled eggs again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was very good. I added turkey sausage instead of the ham and used egg substitute. Instead of a tablespoon of basil, I used a teaspoon. I never thought of adding basil to my eggs...what a delicious change! The flavor of the basil went well with the feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouisvilleHugger
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Though I like all the flavors this has to offer it was just average for me. I'd rather make an omelet with these ingredients so the tastes are recognized better. Scrambling did nothing for this dish. Despite my review, we ate every single bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States