Ham, Basil, and Feta Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I left out the ham, as I'm vegetarian, and also used fresh basil, as it was what I had available. I thought this was really delicious, even without one of the main ingredients! The fresh basil was great, and I would now only try it with dried basil if I didn't have any fresh available. Really quick, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I tried this recipe with only one variation- turkey sandwich meat in place of ham, as that's what I had on hand- and it was delicious! As others said put the feta in at the end in order to keep it from getting lost. Delicious way to make scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. I'll give it a rare (for me) 5-star rating. Not that it's the best thing in the world, and I might give it only 4 stars for taste per se, but because it's so quick and easy to make, the whole recipe deserves 5 stars. I made it exactly as written, using a little sea salt and some freshly ground black pepper (I had some whole peppercorns on hand). I thought that 1 1/2 teaspoons of butter (i.e., 1/2 T.) was an unusual amount, but I measured it out and it indeed seemed to be the amount needed. I've already told a friend about this, and plan to make another batch tomorrow. It makes a decent-sized breakfast for one person (not a huge amount). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
WOW what an easy, quick and flavorful recipe. I have made this over and over. It has become a family favorite for breakfast. The only change I have made is to use three eggs, discarding 2 of the yolks so there are three egg whites and only one yolk, this brings down the fat and helps with our lower fat and carb diet. Try adding a tablespoon of chopped fresh mushrooms, perfect addition to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouisvilleHugger
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Though I like all the flavors this has to offer it was just average for me. I'd rather make an omelet with these ingredients so the tastes are recognized better. Scrambling did nothing for this dish. Despite my review, we ate every single bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was very good. I added turkey sausage instead of the ham and used egg substitute. Instead of a tablespoon of basil, I used a teaspoon. I never thought of adding basil to my eggs...what a delicious change! The flavor of the basil went well with the feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I loved these eggs. I used canadian bacon inplace of the ham. Never want plain scrambled eggs again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is an absolutely great twist on conventional scrambled eggs. Vibrant, filling, and popping with flavor. Like many other reviewers have mentioned, cutting back from 1 tablespoon of dry basil to 1 teaspoon helps to not overpower the dish with the basil flavor. I also added the feta cheese in later when the egg was on the pan cooking as to not have it lost amidst the egg when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dennis.chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
modified
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made these the other day and they were simple and delicious. I cut back to I think a teaspoon of basil like others and it was just the right amount for me. I'm definitely making these every time I have leftover feta. =D Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshFox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States