Ham, Basil, and Feta Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These are delicious scrambled eggs. I made the recipe as directed, but cut it in half for only one serving. I added a few chopped chives and omitted any salt. The ham and feta are salty enough. I also added the feta torward the end of the cooking, so it wouldn't get lost. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
LOVED THIS! I will never be able to eat boring scramblers again. The only change I made was a 1 teaspoon i/o tablespoon of the basil. Simple, amazing...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learnin2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Excellent eggs! These were very moist and full of flavor. No salt needed to give these some taste. I loved this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
modified
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is an absolutely great twist on conventional scrambled eggs. Vibrant, filling, and popping with flavor. Like many other reviewers have mentioned, cutting back from 1 tablespoon of dry basil to 1 teaspoon helps to not overpower the dish with the basil flavor. I also added the feta cheese in later when the egg was on the pan cooking as to not have it lost amidst the egg when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dennis.chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I loved these eggs. I used canadian bacon inplace of the ham. Never want plain scrambled eggs again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was very good. I added turkey sausage instead of the ham and used egg substitute. Instead of a tablespoon of basil, I used a teaspoon. I never thought of adding basil to my eggs...what a delicious change! The flavor of the basil went well with the feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
WOW what an easy, quick and flavorful recipe. I have made this over and over. It has become a family favorite for breakfast. The only change I have made is to use three eggs, discarding 2 of the yolks so there are three egg whites and only one yolk, this brings down the fat and helps with our lower fat and carb diet. Try adding a tablespoon of chopped fresh mushrooms, perfect addition to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. I'll give it a rare (for me) 5-star rating. Not that it's the best thing in the world, and I might give it only 4 stars for taste per se, but because it's so quick and easy to make, the whole recipe deserves 5 stars. I made it exactly as written, using a little sea salt and some freshly ground black pepper (I had some whole peppercorns on hand). I thought that 1 1/2 teaspoons of butter (i.e., 1/2 T.) was an unusual amount, but I measured it out and it indeed seemed to be the amount needed. I've already told a friend about this, and plan to make another batch tomorrow. It makes a decent-sized breakfast for one person (not a huge amount). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I tried this recipe with only one variation- turkey sandwich meat in place of ham, as that's what I had on hand- and it was delicious! As others said put the feta in at the end in order to keep it from getting lost. Delicious way to make scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States