Ham, Basil, and Feta Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good! I love feta cheese and scrambled eggs together, but this recipe was a bit heavy on the dried basil.... I cut the recipe in half and added just a bit of milk to the eggs to get them nice and fluffy. I knew just by looking at the recipe that the amount of dried basil would be too much and since I didn't want to ruin this I used a bit of fresh basil instead. I scrambled the eggs a bit then added the rest of the ingredients vs. mixing everything together. I also added in some cherry tomatoes cut in half and upped the feta a bit. This only needed just a bit of fresh cracked black pepper for seasoning. This was great tucked into some flour tortillas for a breakfast wrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These are delicious scrambled eggs. I made the recipe as directed, but cut it in half for only one serving. I added a few chopped chives and omitted any salt. The ham and feta are salty enough. I also added the feta torward the end of the cooking, so it wouldn't get lost. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
LOVED THIS! I will never be able to eat boring scramblers again. The only change I made was a 1 teaspoon i/o tablespoon of the basil. Simple, amazing...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learnin2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is an absolutely great twist on conventional scrambled eggs. Vibrant, filling, and popping with flavor. Like many other reviewers have mentioned, cutting back from 1 tablespoon of dry basil to 1 teaspoon helps to not overpower the dish with the basil flavor. I also added the feta cheese in later when the egg was on the pan cooking as to not have it lost amidst the egg when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dennis.chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I left out the ham, as I'm vegetarian, and also used fresh basil, as it was what I had available. I thought this was really delicious, even without one of the main ingredients! The fresh basil was great, and I would now only try it with dried basil if I didn't have any fresh available. Really quick, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
WOW what an easy, quick and flavorful recipe. I have made this over and over. It has become a family favorite for breakfast. The only change I have made is to use three eggs, discarding 2 of the yolks so there are three egg whites and only one yolk, this brings down the fat and helps with our lower fat and carb diet. Try adding a tablespoon of chopped fresh mushrooms, perfect addition to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I used a heaping tablespoon of fresh basil and it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
these were so delicious and easy! they smell funny while cooking, but they taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouisvilleHugger
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Though I like all the flavors this has to offer it was just average for me. I'd rather make an omelet with these ingredients so the tastes are recognized better. Scrambling did nothing for this dish. Despite my review, we ate every single bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I cut back on the basil and it was still too much and we normally enjoy basil. I doubt I will make this recipe again but if I did I would use 1 tsp dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States