Haluski - Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
We love Haluski, altought I've never made it from "scratch" before. I've always bought it pre-made, frozen. So this was a first, this is a perfect base recipe but we like a little more flavor. MY TIP: Add a meat, like bacon or kielbaska- brown the meat first, set meat aside, then add the butter, onions...and so forth, into the meat drippings. Follow the recipe from there. Lastly chop up the meat into tiny pieces and add to the noodles. Also, a little sprinkling of garlic powder adds another flavor layer. Consider adding a box of frozen pierogi's at the very end and cook app 10 minutes longer till hot in the center. Still very simple and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is the exact recipe I use, only we don't bake it after mixing noodles & cabbage...and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I grew up eating Haluski and was looking for a great basic recipe. Instead of egg noodles I use 2 regular size (approx 8 oz) packages of potato gnocchi. Also, if you like your cabbage soft as my family did, you will need to cook it down a bit more before baking it. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Delicious! my recipe is similar to this, but I've never baked it. I did cut the butter by 1/2 and replaced it w/ a bit of olive oil. Also, I baked it covered for a bit b/c I didn't want it to dry out...it came out moist and yummy. This is serious comfort food~YUM Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I'm sitting here trying to figure out how I've lived half a century and have never seen, heard of, or eaten cabbage with noodles. ??? I feel cheated. This was soooooooooooo good. Reading the recipe I thought I'd like it...but, I love this stuff. Thanks for turning me on to SUCH a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I used this recipe as a base from directions I was given by a Polish man how to make this. I did not have to bake it at all, so I skipped the last steps but I did use the ingredients listed here and added some pulled pork and some bacon. I fried the onions and the meat in the butter, then broke up the meat, added the cabbage and some water and covered to cook about 10 minutes-- meanwhile boiled the noodles, drained, and added to the pot, stirred well before serving. My family loved it, had seconds and is scarfing the rest for lunch. How can you go wrong with cabbage? Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Awesome. Add cooked bacon and it's a complete dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe was perfect. I did not bake it but let it slow cook in the roaster. It was just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
The recipes makes a lot, but can be easily halved for those occassions where you are not feeding 20 people. It is, however, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
this is great stuff, I had it last week for the first time. I cut the recipe in half because it makes so much and I sprinkled 1/4 cup shredded cheese on top before baking.mmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States