Haluski - Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very authentic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Hi! This is my recipe, and can't seem to get in to edit it! I will say I just made this last week, and agree with some-it could use a little "more". So I would say to add to the recipe: a teaspoon of minced garlic and cook with with onions till soft. Then after mixing noodles & cabbage together, sprinkle with garlic powder and onion powder, along with salt & pepper. Half my family also loves it with crumbled bacon too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAgirlgoneSouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was good and pretty easy, but not enough seasoning for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Yay, it tasted just like the Polish ladies made for the church fish fry! I used my cast iron skillet, melted a 1/2 cup butter put in sliced sweet onion then added the sliced cabbage. I did end putting the noodles in skillet also, glad I did because even I used a 3/4 pack of noodles (thin egg ones) I still needed to add more onions and cabbage. I added plenty of salt, pepper and butter and stirred awhile then put into a buttered glass large dish and cooked for 30 minutes uncovered. OMG DELICIOUS! Thank you so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
this dish is ethnic to my husbands' heritage. If you want to make "REAL" haluski from scratch, make your own egg noodles! I usually add some cumin, and brown some lean hamburger or corn beef to go with the noodles.. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Added bacon and it was good...but not great---needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I had seen Haluski on TV a few years ago and had never tried it. Someone at work mentioned and it I wanted to try it, so I made this recipe. It was delicious. We couldn't get enough of it. I can't imagine it would be quite as good without baking it. I did use the bacon also and it just gave it that little bit extra. I told my next door neighbor and gave her the recipe and she made it too. Great easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a simple recipe, but it took me a LOT longer than the time listed because of my smaller skillet. I had to soften the onion and each half of the cabbage separately before tossing everything together in the baking dish. My family loved it, and it's a fantastic substitute for the authentic haluski we buy during Lent at our local Byzantine Catholic church. They can't wait for me to buy another cabbage so we can have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It was soso. Simple recipe but still too much work for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
OMG...a taste of my childhood! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States