Halushki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This is not the "Czech" version of Huluski. This is cabbage noodles. And if done correctly it is very flavorful. The cabbage should be sauteed in the pan until lightly browned along with chopped onion and garlic. Sprinkle salt and pepper and paprika on it. When cabbage is soft mix in with egg noodles and serve. Haluski is totally different dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I was surprised that although simple, this dish was also very delicious, haertwarming and satisfying. I live in Nova Scotia, and we are having the worst winter in years here, and I havn't been making it to the grocery store as regularly as usual on account of all the snow storms. Therefor I've been on the hunt for recipes that have ingredients in them that I have on hand. I halved this recipe and added quite a bit of onion and garlic powder and s&p. I also added a few dashes of vinegar when I deglazed the pan. I cooked this according to taste as the recipe indicates, and the finished product was very delicious. This type of dish is very different from my usual style of cooking, but my husband devoured two heaping platefuls, and my 4 year old ate her portion too (no small miracle!)My husband said to give this 5 stars, and I heartily second that! Thanks Kris for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Terrific recipe! I've made this, or variations thereof, many times since first finding the recipe. It's best with pork chops and egg noodles but I've also used leftover pork loin, chicken breast, bacon; angel hair or any other pasta I've had on hand. Good quick meal-in-a-pot and my young kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
A suggestion is to use browned butter, it gives a better taste and more eye appealing. Wayyyy too much noodles for the other ingredients make this a dry dish and I hesitate to call it a Polish dish. This isn't a real Polish heritage recipe, as my Polish parents' cooking and authentic cookbooks NEVER use garlic, garlic salt, in their cooking. I think Kris may have doctored this herself, it's a tasty dish the way she makes it but there are better out there. Two stars only for the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
What a wonderful recipe! My husband is from eastern Europe and his mother grows, preserves and cooks nearly all of the food his family eats. When he came to the US and lived with me, I knew he missed his country and the home cooking he got there. When I prepared this dish for him he gobbled it up and actually requested it again. Thanks for this recipe! I like to serve it with a little sour cream, it balances the dish nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was an interesting change from our usual fare. I used pre-shredded coleslaw mix instead of chopping up a head of cabbage. It needs just a bit more flavor... some chopped bacon with the chops and onion maybe? More (real) garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I have eaten a variation of this dish once a month for 47 years. It is ok as is but will be bland. Fresh or Smoked Kielbasi is a cheaper more flavorful choice or small cubes of Pork butt. Garlic powder is a last resort, fresh is best. Slice the cabbage the same width as the noodles being used for faster cooking and easier eating, Bowties work well too. Increase butter to 1 stick, don't worry you are not eating this every day!, and IF really big flavor is desired, add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of CARAWAY SEED, very traditional. Cook all until golden brown for depth of flavor and Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Fantastic! I have always been a fan of cabbage & noodles and this version is now my favorite. This dish is great for those cooking on a budget. The next time I make this, I think I'll add a little vinegar as the cabbage cooks down. Thanks for sharing Kris. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
A great addition to this recipe is a 16 oz can of saurkraut. The recipe is very good as it stands but we just like the bite that the kraut adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Tried this recipe and was very impressed - family loved it. I added some finely chopped onion and a little bit more fresh garlic, I also used chicken and pork combination (cut in bit size pieces. Great for a quick meal so Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States