Halushki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2002
I substituted pork chops with Ham bits and bacan and It was great, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
My family loved this! It did take me longer to make this than I anticipated, but it was worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I was surprised that although simple, this dish was also very delicious, haertwarming and satisfying. I live in Nova Scotia, and we are having the worst winter in years here, and I havn't been making it to the grocery store as regularly as usual on account of all the snow storms. Therefor I've been on the hunt for recipes that have ingredients in them that I have on hand. I halved this recipe and added quite a bit of onion and garlic powder and s&p. I also added a few dashes of vinegar when I deglazed the pan. I cooked this according to taste as the recipe indicates, and the finished product was very delicious. This type of dish is very different from my usual style of cooking, but my husband devoured two heaping platefuls, and my 4 year old ate her portion too (no small miracle!)My husband said to give this 5 stars, and I heartily second that! Thanks Kris for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was just great. It was simple to make and really tasty and satisfying. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was an interesting change from our usual fare. I used pre-shredded coleslaw mix instead of chopping up a head of cabbage. It needs just a bit more flavor... some chopped bacon with the chops and onion maybe? More (real) garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Fantastic! I have always been a fan of cabbage & noodles and this version is now my favorite. This dish is great for those cooking on a budget. The next time I make this, I think I'll add a little vinegar as the cabbage cooks down. Thanks for sharing Kris. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
What a wonderful recipe! My husband is from eastern Europe and his mother grows, preserves and cooks nearly all of the food his family eats. When he came to the US and lived with me, I knew he missed his country and the home cooking he got there. When I prepared this dish for him he gobbled it up and actually requested it again. Thanks for this recipe! I like to serve it with a little sour cream, it balances the dish nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was OK - I ended up making it because I had a half of cabbage sitting around and an opened bag of egg noodles. I used boneless pork chops to make the cutting up easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
It was ok. It was alittle to dry for me. Needs alittle more sause with all that egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Terrific recipe! I've made this, or variations thereof, many times since first finding the recipe. It's best with pork chops and egg noodles but I've also used leftover pork loin, chicken breast, bacon; angel hair or any other pasta I've had on hand. Good quick meal-in-a-pot and my young kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States