Halushki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Delicious! I make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Recipe was good. I doubled it and there was enough left over to eat the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
My great aunt make Halushki with Keilbassa instead of the pork and added tiny little homemade dumplings in with the noodles. This really is a great family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is good, but a bit different than we make it at home. Instead of porkchops we brown up a package of bacon in the bottom of a large pot, then add the onions and get them carmelized. After they are combined and cooked down we add the cabbage a layer at a time, seasoning with salt pepper onion powder and garlic powder individually on each layer. You put a lid on it and the cabbage will sweat, when they are all broken down add 1 bag of egg noodles (uncooked) right into the same pot and let them cook in the water from the cabbage. It takes a little bit extra time but it is well worth it. Serve with a tiny bit of balsamic vinegar on top to cut the grease and VOILA...a one pot wonder everyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
For some reason my hubby liked this one so I will make again otherwise I found it bland. Will try again but will experiment more with different seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I have made this recipe for years - try shredding the cabbage and then place in frying pan with 1 stick of butter or margarine - gives the dish more flavor - I also you Salad Supreme seasoning to give the dish more color and taste. It is a great meal for the budget conscience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This recipe was tasty, but here's the Russian version. Melt butter (lots), add garlic and lots of onions. When lightly browned, add the grated cabbage. When cabbage is down to taste, add the cooked noodles. Mix all to blend and serve. Half the noodles in this recipe are plenty. Too many noodles spoils the taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Really great. Some people were complaining about the dish being bland, so I used McCormick's Pork Rub on the chops and used 4 cloves of minced garlic added in with the onion. I agree that a dollop of sour cream makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I've prepared this recipe numerous times now and everyone LOVES it. I think the origional version is the best, but the alternate meats are pretty tasty also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Authentic, inauthentic, cabbage noodles, halushki, Russian, Czech, Polish - good grief, who cares? I departed just a bit from this recipe, but the results were tasty, and that's what *I* care about. I didn't use the pork chops, but did use a pan in which I'd just pan-fried some turkey kielbasa for another dish. Added roughly 4 tbsps butter, a chopped onion, and a bag of coleslaw mix. (By the way, there is absolutely no reason you can't use coleslaw mix for this. It's cabbage. Grated. With a very very tiny amount of grated carrot that you won't even notice.) Sprinkled the whole thing generously with garlic powder and cooked, covered, low and slow, stirring more or less regularly, until it was all a deep golden brown; then added salt, pepper, and scant pinches of sugar to taste. Mixed with 6 oz of big fat egg noodles, cooked in salted water, added a bit more butter (yeah, I know), and adjusted the salt and pepper. Highly delicious, and basically the same as Kris's recipe, although I'm giving hers four stars because I prefer my proportions to hers. Make it, eat it, enjoy it - don't worry about what it's called!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States