Halushki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This dish was good but a little on the bland side for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coraniaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I have eaten a variation of this dish once a month for 47 years. It is ok as is but will be bland. Fresh or Smoked Kielbasi is a cheaper more flavorful choice or small cubes of Pork butt. Garlic powder is a last resort, fresh is best. Slice the cabbage the same width as the noodles being used for faster cooking and easier eating, Bowties work well too. Increase butter to 1 stick, don't worry you are not eating this every day!, and IF really big flavor is desired, add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of CARAWAY SEED, very traditional. Cook all until golden brown for depth of flavor and Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
It was okay. I like Guy Fieri's Halushki better. His has bacon and peas. I dont know if that is traditional Polish food or not but its dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe pretty closely except I only added about 8 oz of egg noodles. Also, a dollop of sour cream is very nice with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very, very good! I did have to make a few adjustments, thus 4 stars. I added salt, pepper, seasoned salt for more flavor. Cooked the cabbage with 1 red onion and garlic in lots of butter. Cubed a pork shoulder roast instead of chops. This was a good base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
i make one similar to this but instead of pork chops i use bacon it is delicous havent tried the pork though but i think ill stick to my bacon pork just dont sound good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
My husband is from Poland so thats all my in-laws cook is polish dishes. So I decided to try to make one myself. It was very easy and my husband said it was almost as good as mom's. I'll take that as a compliment. The only thing that I would change is not adding pork to it try smoked sausage it has more of a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I used bacon instead of pork chops and roughly chopped the cabbage instead of quarters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Also tastes great when made with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisscat69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
i love this recipe!! i make it w/ smoked pork chops and it comes out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugj4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States