Halupki (Stuffed Cabbage) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Hi, I'm Jillian the submitter of this recipe. I would like to correct a couple of things with this recipe: 1) Using a paring knife, remove the core of the cabbage then boil it (the leaves will come off easier that way) 2) In the list of ingredients after 1 (28 ounce) can tomato sauce it should read 12 oz. reserved cabbage water 3) Once you're done with step 9, then you take any leftover leaves, cut them up or (shred) and place into the bottom of a roasting pan and layer the stuffed cabbage rolls over top. I use large eggs and 90/10 lean ground beef when preparing these and sometimes sub fresh minced garlic for the garlic powder. (Also, 2/3 Tbsp. is 2 tsp. for the sugar) I've been making Halupki (stuffed cabbage) for years and my 98 year old Grandma has probably made thousands of these! She taught me how to make them and that's a memory I'll always treasure. We had such fun that day... Be sure to serve with mashed potatoes or sour cream and chive mashed potatoes for a twist. I hope you and your family enjoy these as much as everyone in my family does! UPDATE - Grandma Jean turned 100 on Thursday, June 26th 2014. Happy Birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this when it was a personal recipe.... Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! Just the right amounts of everything - I followed the recipe with the exception of using fresh garlic not powdered. Will definitely be making these again! Thanks for a great recipe Jillian! **update** I used some I had frozen - they were perfect! Freeze very well! ***I would like to add that this was one of my mom favorite things to eat when she was living with me. I had to puree it for her as she eventually developed swallowing issues. She always ate this for me and she turned away MANY other things I might offer her. Thanks Jillian for the recipe and for making my mom happy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Thank you Jillian for sharing your Grandmother's recipe!!! It is absolutely WONDERFUL. I made it exactly as you have it (including the additional info you have in the review section). It takes some time to make but so worth every minute (granmom's recipes are always the best). It was a hit with the family and it makes so much (we will have no problem eating this again tomorrow. I highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Excellent authentic recipe! I am from Russia and know what I am talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
OMG. They are the best. Just like mom made. I have look for a good recipe .i glad I find a great one .thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Thank you for the recipe Jillian!! It tastes just like my grandma's recipe. Deeeeelicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
PERFECT!!!! THE BEST I'VE EVER EATEN. I ALSO MADE IT FOR A FAMILY OF 8. THEY ALL SAID IT WAS FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Ripley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
everyone loved these. I made them exactly as the directions said. I did have to doubble it up but wow. a hit in the whole neighborhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States