Halupki (Stuffed Cabbage) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
The basic recipe is what we always used. But... Everyone went crazy for Mom's "pigs in the blanket" (what we call this in W. Pennsylvania). The 2 secrets: We NEVER bake - we boil the cabbage rolls. For the sauce - add DICED ONION, and use KETCHUP. It makes a sweeter sauce! Mom learned to make this way 80 years ago as a small girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Ruckser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Massari
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
DELICIOUS!! I cut back the sugar by a tablespoon because I didn't want it overly sweet but other than that I followed it to a T and my family totally loves it. It has been added to our meal lineup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Sorry, these were pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Fun to make and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was excellent! A friend recommended the recipe to me and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe took a while to make but it was well worth the wait. My son is usually the slowest eater but he finished first and asked for seconds! He was so happy to find out there were leftovers for dinner tomorrow. Note: My husband doesn't eat meat so I made a second pan with grilled tofu crumbles. I kept everything else the same in the recipe and the vegetarian version was a hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tharealmrshenry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
followed the recipe and found the result very satisfying ,next time I might add something to kickmit up a notch but not needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Great recipe! Very similar to my Russian family recipe. We use a large can of tomato soup. Personally I prefer all ground beef and add mushrooms for flavor. A side note: Polish use beef broth and Russians use tomato based sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Jillian, thanks for the recipe. I'm planning to make this evening (1/16/15). I know it will be as good as I remember as its the same recipe my Mother used to make. Imagine my surprise when I looked at your profile to learn you live in Allentown, PA (I was born and raised in Catasauqua, I now live in Georgia). My mouth is watering just thinking of dinner. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol McClellan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I tried to make this to replicate my husband's Polish Grandmother's dish. I made it for"4" since there are 2 of us. He ate 3/4 of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States