Halupki (Stuffed Cabbage) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Love this, grew up on these. Just like Bapchi made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Most excellent! It's helpful to use the tomato sauce in the Polish section of your grocer. The second time I made it, I used some Worcestershire in the meat with soy sauce in place of the salt for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Hamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe. One secret ingredient was added which I think takes it to a new level, if that is possible. I added about half a teaspoon of Cinammon to the meat mixture. There is something about the cinammon which enhances all the flavors. You don't really taste "cinammon" you just taste a robust comfort food. For Sauce I used what I had on hand. 1- 20 oz can tomato puree, 1 -14 oz can diced tomatoes, 1 can Campbells tomato soup, about 1/4 c red wine vinegar.. I mixed the sauce in a bowl and spooned a little of it into the meat mixture. Then I poured the rest on top of the assembled cabbage rolls. Oh so delicious! I did run out of cabbage leaves before I ran out of meat, so I just formed some meatballs with it and cooked in right in the pan with the cabbage rolls. So love having this recipe to remind us of our Lithuanian grandmother who was an amazing cook and I never saw her measure anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Way too much trouble for a bland meal. Needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Jillian thank you and thank Grandma I could never find the exact recipe because all if my family is gone. When I saw Halupki though it brought back great memories. Your recipe is a 12!! Thanks for bringing back the memories When we lose the ones we love a lot goes with them!!! I wish Grandma to stay well and enjoy every second with her!!!! Hugs to all !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy A Stroker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I just made your recipe and it was great! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
OMG! AMAZING! Thank you so much for sharing such an amazing family recipe. The only thing I did different was freeze the head of cabbage instead of boiling it and just used regular water for the sauce. (I didn't read any other reviews, so I'm not sure if the freezer trick was mentioned.) Definitely making this one again and again and AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Have you ever used a pressure cooker to make Halupki? I want to try, but I'm nervous about it. Someone told me not to use tomato sauce in pressure cookers because it burns easily. But would the leftover cabbage at the bottom help with that? I always serve mine w/ pierogis mixing nationalities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Gavazzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
They were awesome !! Might double the sauce. My husband loved these!! The only thing I changed was some caraway seeds and some dill added to the meat mixture. These are a new staple. TY !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
so far easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States