Halupki (Stuffed Cabbage) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great! Tasted like my childhood and the Halupki my Ukrainian great-grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe find! I filled with beef, no pork. And we use Splenda to sweeten sauces, tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe was okay but probably the least flavorful I've ever had. Having grown up in a diverse family (Russian, Polish, Hungarian and German family members), I've had a LOT of "Galumpies" as I called them. Our Russian family added shredded carrot and sauerkraut to the meat mixture, along with onion and rice. This had crushed tomatoes seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic, brown sugar and a little lemon or vinegar. The German recipe was similar, only no sauerkraut and shredded carrot. The Polish family had a sweet/sour tomato sauce made by adding raisins (not a big fan). Our Hungarian family used paprika (1 tbs or so) along with sauteed onion to the meat, again no egg. They were placed on a bed of sauerkraut with Hungarian smoked sausage chunks or kielbasa tucked around. I tend to make the Hungarian version, without the smoked sausage but with a can of crushed tomatoes seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic, brown sugar, vinegar and paprika. I put the unused cabbage, chopped, around the rolls (seated on Bavarian-style sauerkraut) before I pour on the tomato sauce and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RunnerBride
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Changes I made: I arraged 2-3 sliced apples and a handful of grapes around the Golumpki beforpouring in the sauce. I grew up with a Polish caregiver and this is how she made her cabbage rolls. I am aware the recipe is Russian however I chose it because the ingredients were traditional. DELICIOUS! I impressed my family and myself. this is a staple in my home from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Just what I was looking for, traditional stuffed cabbage. These are like I remember my friends' mothers making growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are the absolute BEST!! I am making them again tonight, and noticed I hadn't reviewed them, for some reason. I like to tweak everything I make with more or different spices, add or change the meats used, more or less of this and that. I wouldn't change anything on these! We just think this dish is a wonderful, tasty, inexpensive comfort food. Thank you so much for sharing your family tradition and letting us feel the love. If you're looking for stuffed cabbage recipe, this really is THE one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this for dinner last night -- still trying to replicate my late mother-in-laws recipe. It turned out wonderful and my husband says it's a keeper! The only change I made was to substitute couscous for the rice (that's what I had in the house). This is definitely a dish I'll add to my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made a half recipe and a 2 lb (little less than 1 kilo) cabbage barely provided enough leaves. If you are going to make the whole recipe, use a BIG cabbage. I used twice as much cabbage water as needed by accident(forgot instructions didn't adjust) with the tomato sauce so it was runny but still a decent flavour, could possibly use a bit of herb or spice in it also next time. I may add basil or oregano, but it wouldn't be needed, I'd say. I also recommend doubling the rice amount. When prepared this way the meat held together well and secure. I thought the filling was bland and could really use a lot more salt, pepper and garlic powder. The parsley really didn't add much to the flavour either, I think next time I will use dill instead or in addition to parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States