Halloween Popcorn Pumpkins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
TIP: put popcorn in a brown paper lunch bag (no oil necessary) and microwave it. This is healthier than the chemical kind you buy. It is also easier than shaking a pan on the stove. Once popped, Tear a small hole in one corner of the brown bag and shake your popcorn over the trash can to get the unpopped kernels to fall out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Great idea for halloween - always looking for something fun to do with the kids. They enjoyed passing them out to their friends - kids ate them up and adults raved about them! I followed the recipe on the first batch I made and they were too buttery for my taste - I did not even share them with anyone. I made a 2nd batch and only used 3 tablespoons butter and they turned out great. I like the M&M idea and the pretzel stick for the stem - will definitely try both of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and these were perfect. They were gobbled up almost immediately. So cute!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODIE1010
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
These were easy and great! My only changes were that I already had orange gel coloring, and I added pepitas and white chocolate chips. My husband loves these, dug in, and formed the balls for me! I'm gonna make these again for Christmas, in green and red! Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is a smaller version than my mom makes for christmas popcorn balls and it it is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Barker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TabithaandMurphy
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I doubled the recipe and it came out perfect! I followed the instructions exactly except I omited the stems (I instead individually wrapped them in cellophane and tied with black ribbons). Thanks for posting - these will be fun to play around with for different holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is great! It's very fun for kids and adults. If you buy bagged popcorn do not buy really buttery popcorn. This recipe adds butter to the mixture - you don't want to over do it. The salty and sweet mix together very well. If you don't follow the recipe you won't get a 5 star result. Hope this helps! Thanks for the recipe. The kids at Day Care Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was very good and fast to make...here are a few suggestions: 1. Beware of left over kernels from microwave popcorn, they definitely can hurt a tooth. Popping your own popcorn on the stove prevents this and is just as fast. 2. Put a couple cubes of caramel in the marshmellow sauce, this really makes a diffence! I did one sauce with and one without...the caramels add something that was lacking. 3. For a more vibrant orange use 4 drops of red and 5 drops of yellow. 4. Add few loose marshmellows to the popcorn mixture. 5. To evenly distribute the candy corn and peanuts, pour them ontop of the popcorn and then pour the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe for classroom treats. My kids loved helping to make them and everyone ate them right up. I added a leaf to the pumpkin, by dying some extra popcorn green and placing one at the base of each stem, made them even cuter! I also used a thick pretzel stick for the stem instead of licorice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
i was born on halloween so i am a little biased, but these puppies rocked. i added a half cup of smuckers natural peanut butter in place of the peanuts and boosted the marshmallow infusion by a cup as well. they turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninjacook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States