Halloween Popcorn Pumpkins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
i was born on halloween so i am a little biased, but these puppies rocked. i added a half cup of smuckers natural peanut butter in place of the peanuts and boosted the marshmallow infusion by a cup as well. they turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninjacook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
TIP: put popcorn in a brown paper lunch bag (no oil necessary) and microwave it. This is healthier than the chemical kind you buy. It is also easier than shaking a pan on the stove. Once popped, Tear a small hole in one corner of the brown bag and shake your popcorn over the trash can to get the unpopped kernels to fall out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
For some reason mine did not set up. They tasted good, but were still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Thank you for such an easy, fun and very creative recipe! I am always on the hunt for cute recipe ideas like this one! I used Wilton's orange concentrated paste instead of the food colouring drops. I didn't add any peanuts (these are going to a peanut free school zone) but instead I added 1C of marshmallows w/ the candy corn and stirred them in. (They didn't melt. So there is whole mini-marshmallows in every bite) I used green apple flavoured licorice for the stems. I only got 10 pumpkins out of this recipe. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent and a great way to use up candy corn. I couldn't stop eating these! Made these last night and added in roasted peanuts and m&m's. I only used 1/4 cup of butter instead as well. And decided to insert pretzel sticks instead and wraped these nicely in little baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
cute and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe for classroom treats. My kids loved helping to make them and everyone ate them right up. I added a leaf to the pumpkin, by dying some extra popcorn green and placing one at the base of each stem, made them even cuter! I also used a thick pretzel stick for the stem instead of licorice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was very good and fast to make...here are a few suggestions: 1. Beware of left over kernels from microwave popcorn, they definitely can hurt a tooth. Popping your own popcorn on the stove prevents this and is just as fast. 2. Put a couple cubes of caramel in the marshmellow sauce, this really makes a diffence! I did one sauce with and one without...the caramels add something that was lacking. 3. For a more vibrant orange use 4 drops of red and 5 drops of yellow. 4. Add few loose marshmellows to the popcorn mixture. 5. To evenly distribute the candy corn and peanuts, pour them ontop of the popcorn and then pour the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Mrs Nault
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was fun & the kids loved how they turned out....I used plain as can be popcorn and followed the recipe exactly and I have to agree with "Duckball" and say that it was way too buttery. Because of all the butter, these ended up not very sweet at all, and so soft that the licorice would not stay in place. Other than that it was overall a good recipe. I will try this recipe again, with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is great! It's very fun for kids and adults. If you buy bagged popcorn do not buy really buttery popcorn. This recipe adds butter to the mixture - you don't want to over do it. The salty and sweet mix together very well. If you don't follow the recipe you won't get a 5 star result. Hope this helps! Thanks for the recipe. The kids at Day Care Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States